Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC powers on, but does not boot

• Please log in to reply

Novaprospekt

Novaprospekt

• PipPip
  • 66 posts
Hi guys, I'm a pretty tech-savvy user but this problem has stumped me.

I have a custom built box, and everything was working properly last night. Today I moved back home from my college dorm and the computer accordingly was transported.

In the past, some minor transport vibration has dislodged a few jumpers, notably the power button connector and the reset button connector, and I just plug those back in and I'm good to go. This issue happened again this afternoon where I needed to plug the jumpers back in to get the power button to work and that was fine.

But now, it powers on but doesn't boot, I don't even think it passes POST. All fans are spinning properly, and DVD drive buttons work (ejecting tray, etc.). Sounds like all HDs are spinning as well with no unusual sounds.

What doesn't work is the monitor display (check signal cable) and I don't hear any of the characteristic POST beeps -- even ones that signal a problem -- just no sounds at all. Also, my keyboard and mouse aren't powered on.

I took a few measures to try and troubleshoot the problem, such as removing all but one stick of RAM, my 2nd (I have dual) graphics card, my sound card, as well as blowing the dust out of the fans and heatsinks to ensure there wasn't any heat problems. Nothing has worked.