Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

HDD advice

• Please log in to reply

gracerren

gracerren

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
i want to replace my HDD with a new disk drive. Im a newbie in this and I want some advice before I buy a new one.

how do i know if the HDD is compatible for my computer?
my current drive is SAMSUNG SV4002H (40 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
and i want to buy more larger drives.

could someone give me an advice considering this issue..

thankss....

Advertisements

Alzeimer

Alzeimer

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
Ultra-ATA or Pata drives are also known as Ide Drives.

If you have XP with service pack 1 and up the size of your drive is not an issue. If your XP as no service pack then the maximum will be 127go.

5400rpm is a low speed unless your computer is a labtop, if its a dektop try to buy a 7200rpm one.

Ultra-ATA/100 (the 100) is the tranfer rate of the drive, the earlier drives were Ultra-ATA/33 and /66 and you have the fastest /133

Also some Brand have longuer warranties then others, so it is something to be considered.

Lost my Lynx

Lost my Lynx

• PipPip
  • 18 posts
Looked on Newegg for a drive of your specs, found a nice 320GB Western Digital 7200 RPM.
It's a Ultra-ATA 100 though, is that a problem?
Anyway Link-o-doodle
Hope it's some help.
EDIT: Priced quite cheap $60.99 or there's a 160 GB version for $49.99

Edited by Lost my Lynx, 19 May 2010 - 11:31 AM.

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician