Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I need help installing windows 98 on laptop or netbook !

• Please log in to reply

paake411

paake411

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Yes, its a Dell Latitude LS. I install a new hard drive but don't know how to install windows 98 on it because it doesn't have a cdrom drive on in it. If anybody can tell me how thank you ! Sorry I'm a noob :) Bought it from ebay, didn't come with hard drive! Now I don't know how to install windows 98 on new hard drive without cdrom drive because I'm new at this thanks for any help.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Possibly the system is bootable from a usb flash drive or a external cdrom drive. By default it looks like this system uses a floppy drive.
You would need a windows 98 installation disk or in your case windows 98 floppy disks..
If not you would need to contact Dell to see if by chance they can sell you a set of recovery disk. By researching I found it does have a floppy drive which means a lot of disks to use.
You can go HERE to get all the original drivers for your system.
You may try to even contact Dell about a set of original disks but being that old I would be very suurprised if they still carry them.

Edited by rshaffer61, 24 May 2010 - 08:27 PM.

paake411

paake411

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts