Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

another newly built system that won't power up : (

• Please log in to reply

Meir

Meir

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi everyone.

Although I have upgraded individual components before such as hard drives, optical drives and memory, this is my first attempt to assemble a PC from scratch.
I used an XG Viper 2 case, an Asus M4A785TD-V EVO motherboard, an AMD 635 (Quad-core processor), a Galaxy Geforce 200 (PCI express 2.0) and 8 GB of Corsair memory that were recommended as being compatible with my board from Corsair staff. I also have a 750W Antec power supply.
I assembled the individual components. Everything seemed to be seated fine from the processor to the memory. I put in a 1 TB Western Digital drive, an Asus DVD drive and a generic IDE dvd drive. I connected the HD to sata port 1 and connected everything to the power supply. My board has both a 24 pin connection for the power supply as well as a 4 pin block one. I connected both of these but can more than one 4 pin piece go in that slot? Is it possible I have the wrong 4 pin one connected? (the 24 pin connector is labeled as for the motherboard but no other ones are, outside of a couple of PCI express connections nothing is labeled)