Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

blank.cgi

• Please log in to reply

alikat

alikat

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi there,

I have been using ebay for a few years and have had the odd problem with phishing. However, in the last week I have had a file download icon appear when the ebay page loads up. The icon asks me if I would like to open or save the file named blank.cgi. If I activate the cancel button or the close cross it reappears after a few seconds. The following appears on the icon :-

File blank.cgi
Server 127.0.0.1
Type application/octet-stream
Size
Opens with (folder icon) blank.cgi
Would you like to open or save the file?

I have turned off my broadband modem and cleaned off all my antivirus programs. I then re-installed Adaware,downloaded the updates and scanned the hard drive. Ditto for Spybot. Ditto for AVG. With a reboot each time.

I have run Hijack this and here is a copy of my logfile:-

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 07:42, on 22/05/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe