Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Corrupt Registry?

• Please log in to reply

janlawther

janlawther

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Is ther anyone who can help a complete novice with some hand-holding to solve a problem please? I really don't want to have to re-install the system if I can possibly avoid it as I have some important ffiles baout to be lost for ever!

It seems the computer has a corrupt registry from various visits to websites. It started with a screen saying it was a Windows Installer which never seemed to complete whatever it was doing and from there things have got worse. Now it won't boot up and won't go into safe mode etc etc. This evening I've been trying to get it into System Restore through the XP disk. I found info on several websites and religiously copied the various lines in through the repair screen. This is what I put in:

md tmp
copy c:\windows\system32\config\system c:\windows\tmp\system.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\software c:\windows\tmp\software.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\sam c:\windows\tmp\sam.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\security c:\windows\tmp\security.bak
copy c:\windows\system32\config\default c:\windows\tmp\default.bak

delete c:\windows\system32\config\system
delete c:\windows\system32\config\software
delete c:\windows\system32\config\sam
delete c:\windows\system32\config\security
delete c:\windows\system32\config\default

copy c:\windows\repair\system c:\windows\system32\config\system