Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

computer automatically log off


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK something is not right then. If you did D: at the first command prompt and the prompt turned to D: then you type in the cd I386
That should put you at D:\I386
If it doesn't then at the D prompt type in Dir/w and then click enter.
Does the I386 directory show in the list?
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
keep saying that the system cannot find the file or directory specified. at DIR/w, the command prompt is not recognized.

Edited by shoyou, 17 June 2010 - 02:50 PM.

  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
try dir/w
  • 0

#19
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
it say the command prompt is not recognized. since it's so hard, i'm thinking of reinstalling the whole things.

Edited by shoyou, 17 June 2010 - 04:10 PM.

  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is there data you need to save?
  • 0

#21
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
even if there are data i want to save, can't do a thing.
by the way, i am reinstalling, but there are a lot of pop up about software that has not pass the window logo testing, such as Microsoft kernel system audio device. and pop up that said something like a window system folder cannot be rewrite.
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well you could have used a Linux Live cd to get to the data and back it up but at this point if you are reinstalling the data has probably been erased.
Did you format the system and do a fresh install or a repair installation?

Edited by rshaffer61, 17 June 2010 - 05:20 PM.

  • 0

#23
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
i think i did a repair, and now it's saying "window could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: system32\Divers\pics.sys" ask me to repair this file.
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK first thing is since you think you did a repair installation your data still may be intact. Lets try to get to it and allow you to back it up.
Get Puppy Linux from my signature below...Get puppy-2.16-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso download it and burn it to cd
..
if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files get Burncdcc from my signature...it is a small FAST no frills iso burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its puppy-2.16-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

make sure in the bios the cd drive is the first boot device....

put the cd in the cd drive..boot your computer....puppy will boot and run totally in ram...if your hardware is is good working order you will know...
after you get it running and your at the desktop...you take the puppy linux cd out and then you can use the burner to copy all your data to cd/dvds
you can also use it to backup your data to a external usb harddrive..just have it hooked to the computer when you boot up with puppy...

==========================
quick guide for saving data...music..files on a system that will not boot using puppy Linux..


after you get to puppy desktop..
click on the drives icon...looks like a flash drive...top row..it will list all the drives connected to

your computer...

click on the red icon for the drive you want to mount...in this case its a flash drive ...puppy will

mount the drive..the drive icon turns green when its mounted...
minimize the drives mounter window..you will need it again in a few minutes..
drag the right edge of it sideways to shrink it to its narrowest size...about half the width of the screen...then drag the window to the right edge of the screen...

now click on the icon that looks like a filing cabinet (kind of yellow) on the main drive...it should
already be green..
you will see a list of all the folders on the main drive Usually your C: drive..shrink that window to
the narrowest you can..about half the width of the screen...drag that window to the left side of the screen...
at this point you should have 2 windows open on your desktop..the flash drive on the right side..
go back to the folders on the C: drive...click on the documents and settings folder...then your user
name or all users..find the folders that has your data..
drag and drop the folder with the data you want to make copies of to the flash drive window...

your options are to move ..copy ect...JUST COPY..if its to big you will have to open the folder and
drag and drop individual files until the flash drive is full...(I have a 120 GB external USB drive for
big data recovery jobs and a 4 GB flash drive for the smaller jobs)..after you get the files copied to
the flash drive...
Click on the drives mounter you minimized earlier
UNMOUNT THE FLASH DRIVE by clicking on the green icon..you will once in awhile get error messages when
unmouting the drive..ignore them..when the flash drive icon turns red again its safe to remove the
flash drive..trot on over (stroll if you want to look cool) to another computer and plug in the flash

drive and copy all the data files ( I drag and drop) to the other computer..
make sure the other computer can read them...

now delete the data on the flash drive...take it back to the misbehaving computer and plug it in

again..click on the drives icon again and repeat until you have all your data transferred to the working
system..

Thanks to happyrock
  • 0

#25
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
i reinstall but now it said i don't have a ethernet adapter install.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK this is where I'm going to need some info to help.
Is this a name brand system or a custom built?
If name brand what make and model.
If custom built I need to know what motherboard make and model.
Do you have a drivers disk for the motherboard or the system?
Is the ethernet built on the motherboard or is it a add on card?
  • 0

#27
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
i think it's build on the motherboard, was there when i brought it. i have no disk for the motherboard or system.
By the way it seem like i didn't reinstall at all, its like i created a whole new set of it. when i turn it on, i see professional, professional and recovery console. the second Professional is the old one, it still have the system32\Divers\pics.sys missing file.
The new one, seem to be a lot of trouble. If only i can copy the system32\Divers\pics.sys back in.

Edited by shoyou, 17 June 2010 - 10:19 PM.

  • 0

#28
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
i just figure out why D: ain't working. Because for my xp D: is the backup driver and E: is the CD driver. but then now, everything is ruin, missing file system32\Divers\pics.sys. if only i have realize this sooner. and now in recovery console i have like 3 choices, C:windows and D: windows and G:minint. if C:windows can be fix then there's no need for D:windows, but i need to know how to delete that and then the missing file.

i did try to copy the missing file. but i was given a access is denied.
cd i386
expand pci.sys (i receive access is denied.)

Edited by shoyou, 18 June 2010 - 12:12 AM.

  • 0

#29
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ahh ok I think i see the problem.

E: is the CD driver

In the instructions for the I386 what happens if you go to the E and then cd O386?
Do you then get to the correct directory?
  • 0

#30
shoyou

shoyou

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
yes, if go E: the i386. it will lead me to E:\I386.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP