Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Buying iPhone 4?

• Please log in to reply

onedoller

onedoller

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hello, I was not sure which topic to post this under, but I figured some of you may have helpful advice on this topic. As I'm sure you all know the iPhone 4 will be selling at the price of 199 with a two year agreement. I am still a student and my father has generously offered to buy me a new iPhone; however, if I pre-order and go pick it up at the apple store and want to be added to my father's family share plan will I still receive the 199 price tag even though I am not going to sign a new two year agreement? I would be better of pre-ordering on at&t, but they have temporarily suspended the pre-ordering of iPhones.

Advertisements

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts
If you buy the phone and put it on dad's plan he has to agree to the two-year agreement. They don't make their money selling phones, it's the service agreements that go with them.
Johanna

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
you would probably want to confirm with AT&T, but generally those offers are only good with a new 2 year plan (i.e. new customers that don't currently have a plan with AT&T) or when it's actually time for you to upgrade your phone. so if you're only 1 year in on your current phone, you'd have to pay very close to retail for the new phone

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts