Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Window XP Freezing


  • Please log in to reply

#16
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Ok i have an XP professional disk (not the one i used for the install) so will try that. In the mean time


--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer BRIAN (Brian Kenneally)
Generator Brian Kenneally
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-06-25
Time 15:55


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name BRIAN (Brian Kenneally)
User Name Brian Kenneally

Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 2000 MHz (4 x 500)
Motherboard Name TOSHIBA Satellite Pro L300
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 955 MB
BIOS Type Insyde (12/09/09)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio output

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel® ICH9M/M-E 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2928
IDE Controller Intel® ICH9M/M-E 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 292D
Disk Drive WDC WD1200BEVS-26UST0 (111 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ880AS
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 114463 MB (34232 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Network:
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter (192.168.1.55)
Modem TOSHIBA Software Modem

Peripherals:
Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2934 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2935 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2936 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2937 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2938 [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2939 [NoDB]
USB2 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293A [NoDB]
USB2 Controller Intel® ICH9 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 293C [NoDB]
USB Device Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter
Battery Microsoft AC Adapter
Battery Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery


--------[ Debug - PCI ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Attached Thumbnails

  • sensor.JPG

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
The XP Professional disk doesnt appear to work for the sfc / scannow :)

See attached screenshot

Attached Thumbnails

  • error.JPG

  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Also try this and see if it helps improve your system.
ok I need you to do the following and let me know what it says

For HD only



Let's make sure all drives are using DMA mode

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your Hard drive controllers on both the Primary Controller and Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box open the drop down menu and select DMA if available
Redo the steps to check each of the Controllers
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect. Reply back with your results


To turn off indexing:

1. Open up "My Computer."
2. Right-click on your hard drive (usually "C:") and choose "Properties."
3. Uncheck the box at the bottom that reads "Allow Indexing Service to..."
4. Click OK, and files will be removed from memory. This removal may take a few minutes to complete.

Edited by rshaffer61, 25 June 2010 - 11:24 AM.

  • 0

#19
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Once i expanded the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers none of the items had a + sign next to them.

Both primary IDE Channels and Secondary IDE Channels were already set to Transfer Mode "DMA if available"

When I tried to turn off indexing I got an error but once I clicked cancel the indexing box was no longer ticked

Thanks
Brian

Attached Thumbnails

  • controllers.JPG
  • index.JPG

  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK the IDE is set then. That should help the system run smoother.
Now I see in Computer Management your video controller is showing a error.
Please go to the Device Manger itself and see if those two controllers are showing with the yellow exclamation marks on them.
If so please uninstall them and reboot. See if windows will load the correct driver for them then.
Let me know the results.
  • 0

#21
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Have tried this step in the past. Tried again with the uninstall and reboot but no luck.

Cant find anything for them on the Toshiba website, also right click and "update driver" doesnt work

so still have the question mark against both
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
They would most likely be part of the motherboard chipset drivers.
Since your video adapter is showing as working then the others would be part of the motherboard.
Try looking for the chipset driver on the website and see if that would resolve those two. I believe we are closing in on part of the problem now. If that controller is not working correctly your video will freeze.
  • 0

#23
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Went onto the Toshiba website myself a few days ago trying to find drivers for the chipset utility as i thought this would fix the issue..I downloaded and installed these drivers already, see 3 attachments which show whats installed is whats available for download from the website. Going to download again and reinstall just in case

Attached Thumbnails

  • chipset.JPG
  • chipset1.JPG
  • chipset2.JPG

  • 0

#24
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
reinstalled the chipset drivers, rebooted and still the same question marks

Attached Thumbnails

  • video.JPG

  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try HERE
I would but there are several different models to the L300 series and this Toshiba site is more specific.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
my model is PSLB9E, doesnt unfortunately seem to be there.
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would suggest contacting Toshiba and asking them about the correct video controller driver for your system.

Here is their contact page.
  • 0

#28
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
No reply from Toshiba support yet but after lot of surfing i installed the intel display drivers and the question marks are gone :)

While i was waiting yesterday i ran a windows repair but that didnt resolve the freezing issue

Lets hope the display drivers have sorted it, hasnt froze since. Will keep you upto date

Thanks
Brian
  • 0

#29
ozzymyster

ozzymyster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
spoke too soon, froze twice in the last hour.....

any ideas of the next step? Can of petrol and box of matches?
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Total freeze as in you have to power off or just a minute of freeze and then everything returns to normal?

Edited by rshaffer61, 27 June 2010 - 11:13 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP