Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Power Supply not working (New PC Build)

• Please log in to reply

Prominia

Prominia

• PipPipPip
  • 149 posts
This is my first time building a computer and I am having trouble with it powering on. Because it wont. I have a HX750 Corsair power supply with a gigabyte Motherboard. I returned the last power supply because it would not work when I tested it by itself. When I got the replacement i tested it outside with the new power supply which worked. I then proceded to connect everything and now I am not getting any power again. Is it possible that something is shorting out the power supply?

Advertisements

cbarnard

cbarnard

• PipPipPip
  • 755 posts
Welcome to Geeks to Go!

My first thoughts would be that you have improperly hooked up the Front case wires to the MOBO.

Also you say you tested the Power-supply "by it self"

You need to have something plugged in "like a case fan." The power-supply can't be hooked up without a device plugged into it, otherwise you run the risk of frying the power-supply.

If you can give me makes and models of the parts you are using then I maybe able to help you further.

Also you may have to:

1-Remove the motherboard from the case and place on a piece of cardboard
2-Install only the cpu with heat sink and fan, 1 stick ram in dimm 1, psu, video card, case switch and case speaker
3-Connect ps2 mouse and keyboard along with the monitor
4-Repeat the above and power on