Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Slow computer


  • Please log in to reply

#1
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
I have Windows Xp sp3 Dell Dimension. Its totally clean. I have 3G RAM. I have updates updated. I have latest FF and IE. I also disabled all my protection. Anyways I have been else where but told maybe try here. I was wondering if anybody knew some things I can do or try. Maybe some downloads you want me to get you info on my computer. The thing is I have no disc for the computer to just reformat. And it was "ghetto fix" instead of reformat some time ago, so most features were not added or work like paint, or defrag or checking for system errors and fixing them. It all ask for disc. I have tried defrags and other items, but I am sure its "something inside" that we just can't see. Or maybe something not working well with others. I have tons of spade left in my computer. I barely got anything on it. Also I tried start up(disabling all of them)and logging into a different mode. I tried taking out all updates on the computer and installing them 1 at a time. This has been going on forever so its not like its related to anything. I used all sorts of cleaners to clean temps and etc. I do it daily. Any suggestions? Another thing is hopefully I uploaded 3 or 4 pictures of procceses when doing these. One is FF with 3 tabs, FF with 6 tabs I think, IE with 6 tabs I think and nothing running.


This is my add/remove
Acrobate.com
Adobe air
Adobe flash player 10 activex
adobe flash player 10 plug in
adobe reader 9.3.2
Adobe Shockwave 11.5
apple application support
apple software update
conexant d850 56k v.9x dfv modem
dell resource CD
high definition audio driver pk KB835221
HP customer participation program 13.0
HP deskject F24400 all in one driver software 13.0 rel.6
HP Image device fuctions 13.0
Hp print projects 1.0
Hp smart web printing 4.5
HP solution Center 13.0
Intel R graphics media accelerator drivers
Intel R Pro Netwoork Connections Drivers
Java 6 update 20
MEM488U
Microsoft .net framework 2.0 service pack 2
Microsoft .net framework 3.0 service Pack 2
Microsoft .net framework 3.5 sp1
microsoft compression client pack 1.0 for windows xp
Microsoft user mode driver framework feature 1.0
microsoft visual C++ 2005 atl update kb973923-x86 8.0.50727.4053
microsoft visual C++ 2008 atl update kb973924-x86 9.0.30729.4148
Microsoft visual C++ 2008 atl redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17
Firefox 3.6.4
MSXML 4.0 sp2 KB954430
MSXML 4.0 sp2 KB973688
MSXML 6.0 PARSER KB925673
sigma te audio
SoundMAX
Veoh Web Player
Visual C++ 8.0 runtime setup Package
VLC media player .0.9.8a
Windows Internet Explorer 8
Windows media format 11 runtime
windows Media player 11
windows xp service pack 3

These are the items in my add/remove list at this time

Attached Thumbnails

  • Proccesseswithnothingrunning.jpg
  • Proccesseswithfirefoxopen3tabs.jpg
  • Proccesseswithfirefoxopen6tabs.jpg

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Hi BucketHead :)

Lets look at a few things.
===============================================================
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location.
7: Attach to your next reply.
================================================================
Lets see if we can get some system information.

Download and install PC Wizard 2010

Run the program and it will analyze your computer and then display the results.
In the upper left hand corner click on the floppy icon.
You will get a save as screen.
Change the range bullet "only this selection" to be "selected category".
Make sure that text is selected for format.
Click on ok and you will be given a spot to save it to.

Attach it to your response.
================================================================

I also disabled all my protection.

Does this mean you have no virus protection on the unit?
  • 0

#3
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Hi BucketHead :)

Lets look at a few things.
===============================================================
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location.
7: Attach to your next reply.
================================================================
Lets see if we can get some system information.

Download and install PC Wizard 2010

Run the program and it will analyze your computer and then display the results.
In the upper left hand corner click on the floppy icon.
You will get a save as screen.
Change the range bullet "only this selection" to be "selected category".
Make sure that text is selected for format.
Click on ok and you will be given a spot to save it to.

Attach it to your response.
================================================================

I also disabled all my protection.

Does this mean you have no virus protection on the unit?


Hopefully I did the things right. First I did autorun there was more then 10 Id say of no file things. Also I did a print screen of the list before I delete, then I deleted them and safe the file. I have deleted things people have told me and restarted the computer like they asked and it did not start. I do not got no disc what so ever, nor money at this time to buy a disc(So I cant screw it up again) :) So if going to be okay or I need to "fix" something please tell me before I restart it.

The PC Wizard I extracted to a folder I created on desktop. I ran/open it-I clicked "everything tab at top" deleted all no file location for all entries on that entire list. Saved it to desktop.

Yes no protect at this time. After my help here. If I do find out something that could be wrong I will most certainly put back my protection. I normally run Avast free version, Malwarebytes, SuperAntiSpyware for after the fact (fun to scan sometimes).

Now to upload (hopefully do it right)Remember the print screens of one, two, three are the list of entries under everything tab before I deleted entries. Just making sure I dont mess up.

Attached Thumbnails

  • one.jpg

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
Guess my print screens didnt upload right. So that other one is the 1st one these are second and third of the list of everything.

Also with PC Wizard I didnt click anything to run it. It looked like it ran by itself.

Also I wanted to ask what I deleted registrys?

Attached Thumbnails

  • two.jpg
  • three.jpg

Edited by BucketHead, 28 June 2010 - 04:36 PM.

  • 0

#5
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts

Also I wanted to ask what I deleted registrys?

Minor auto start keys. They wont hurt even if they are left, but good to clean out.

Autoruns looks good. Only 1 entry that I spotted.
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:
Adobe speed reader launch
When done restart computer

PC Wizard looks good also.

When you say "slow computer" can you be more specific?
Slow to start?
Slow to open programs?
Slow on everything?

Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem

I strongly suggest to get Avast back on the computer. It 1 that we also recommend. You can put back Malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware either now or later. We recommend those also.

123runner
  • 0

#6
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Also I wanted to ask what I deleted registrys?

Minor auto start keys. They wont hurt even if they are left, but good to clean out.

Autoruns looks good. Only 1 entry that I spotted.
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:
Adobe speed reader launch
When done restart computer

PC Wizard looks good also.

When you say "slow computer" can you be more specific?
Slow to start?
Slow to open programs?
Slow on everything?

Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem

I strongly suggest to get Avast back on the computer. It 1 that we also recommend. You can put back Malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware either now or later. We recommend those also.

123runner


I did the autorun and unchecked that, then closed out of it. I then restarted the computer. Now I am going to go with your plan on the next step. I just wanted to add. Since I do not have disc to reformat or never got the computer reformat but yet "fix" to start. Things like applications and like checking for errors and fixing them dont work and ask for the disc. I tried using this "chkdsk" type thing and ran it in "Run" and they tried having it load the errors and fixing if any. But it didnt work. But I will go on with the step and try anyways.

Also to add the slowness. Pretty much the whole computer. Its been fast and like I said I added RAM at the end of last year even. And its been great. FF and IE open quick and instant. But now I have to wait for both of them to load and sometimes websites are slow while browsing, or youtube have a few of them open it runs slow and like delay sometimes. I tried uninstalling FF but icon didnt go off the desktop and Revo program didnt find FF installed even with that on the desktop. So I Just reinstalled FF and added it.
  • 0

#7
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
Alright I did the disk check you suggest about typing in Chkdsk thing in run. I had to reboot it manually. I had no problems other then slower in step 4. Another thing is how do you know your computer fix/ did anything with what we did with running CHKDSK disc check. Basically went through the steps and said completed when done. Then after step 5 it did a really quick thing of words/sentences for like 2 seconds max. I couldnt even read or see what it said then rebooted itself. It then came up saying the disk check had been run and completed then opened windows.

1. File verification Completed
2. Index verification Completed
3. Security Descprifted Complete
Verification Complete CHKDSK is verifying usn Journal. A usn Journal is verified complete.
4. SHKDSK is verifying file data complete.(slower in this step)
5. CHKDSK is verifying free space Complete.
  • 0

#8
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Sorry, I have been real busy with work. Mega hours all of a sudden.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
123Runner asked if I would assist on this so let me add some things to this to see where we can help.

Lets take a look at the hard drive and see what you have.

Go to
1: Start
2: My Computer
3: Right Click on "C" drive
4: Click on Properties
5: In this field it will tell you total drive space and also free space

Please include results in your next reply


Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

ok I need you to do the following and let me know what it says


For HD only



Let's make sure all drives are using DMA mode

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your Hard drive controllers on both the Primary Controller and Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box open the drop down menu and select DMA if available
Redo the steps to check each of the Controllers
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect. Reply back with your results
We will also check the MsConfig startups after the above if you don't see a speed increase.
  • 0

#10
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Sorry, I have been real busy with work. Mega hours all of a sudden.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions


I did as you asked for windows version and it restarted.


123Runner asked if I would assist on this so let me add some things to this to see where we can help.

Lets take a look at the hard drive and see what you have.

Go to
1: Start
2: My Computer
3: Right Click on "C" drive
4: Click on Properties
5: In this field it will tell you total drive space and also free space

Please include results in your next reply


Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop

  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

ok I need you to do the following and let me know what it says


For HD only



Let's make sure all drives are using DMA mode

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your Hard drive controllers on both the Primary Controller and Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box open the drop down menu and select DMA if available
Redo the steps to check each of the Controllers
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect. Reply back with your results
We will also check the MsConfig startups after the above if you don't see a speed increase.


I did the TFC restarted the computer. I then checked my things and my 2 primarys were already at what you wanted them to be. SO I didn't change them. Now Iam defrag while typing. Also I got 20.9 used spaced and 16.3 free space GB.

Also to let you know I have tried defrags I use Ccleaner and atf or whatever its called most of the time. I got updates on things. I just don't know where to check for things.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please don't quote everything as it slows everything down.
What are you trying to check on specifically?
Did you run the sfc steps and did it ask for the OS cd?
How much total memory do you have?
Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.
Post back with the results

Edited by rshaffer61, 01 July 2010 - 04:12 PM.

  • 0

#12
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
What are you trying to check on specifically? Whole computer is slow and all browsers are are slower like delay/dial up would be. I have tried many things including start ups and they didn't seem to work with making it faster. I also didn't do the sfc I read where it said "vista" skipped figuring it was for vista only and I scrolled down and did the change to d to c: and it stayed. Also I added 3G of RAM. Do you want me to do the sfc I didn't know if safe without having a disc for the computer. Affraid of messing it up and not having a disc near by at all!
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The SFC instructions are mainly for XP with Vista side notes. Running it will check all system files to make sure they are intact and not corrupted. If there are any missing or corrupt ones then it will ask for the cd. If you have changed the path to the C drive it should be able to fix anything using that method.
Also can you supply the following:

Lets take a look at the hard drive and see what you have.

Go to
1: Start
2: My Computer
3: Right Click on "C" drive
4: Click on Properties
5: In this field it will tell you total drive space and also free space

Please include results in your next reply
  • 0

#14
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
I tried the typing in start-run-sfc /scannow-enter thing and it came up saying it was testing to make sure it was all there. Then popped up window saying"files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL cache.. Insert windows xp home edition cdrom. Also for free space I have 16.1 GB and space taken 21 GB and total space is 37.2GB
  • 0

#15
BucketHead

BucketHead

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
I go to close out it says do you want to stop and skip the file I say yes since I can't click retry with it working. So it keeps popping up the scan saying the same thing that I need that thing and do I want to skip file? Each time I click close or exit "I guess its skipping file" and may finish? Says it may ask for disc at end if finished.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP