Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

How to Clone XP partition to new drive?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
starwisecom

starwisecom

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I HAD SUCCESS!
THANKS FOR THE GREAT ADVICE! :-D

Last night I
1) used EASEUS Partition Master to successfully clone the entire source boot disk (NOT just the 'C' partition) to the new destination disk (leaving a lot of unallocated space left over, which I easily dealt with later).

2) DISCONNECTED the source disk's SATA cable and attached it to the new hdd BEFORE I REBOOTED!

Thought I tried this procedure before, but obviously not.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

HISTORY:
My goal: add space & speed to my computer.

1) I got a new 1TB Samsung hdd & installed it. My OS (XP Pro,SP3) recognized, partitioned & formatted it perfectly! :-D

2) I made a 20GB primary active partition on the Samsung for the OS, plus 1 more primary partition for data. Then I cloned my reliable-working, identical-sized 20GB OS partition from the "old" 74GB Velociraptor I'm using. :-)

3) Changed the BIOS so that the Samsung = boot drive. :-)

4) Computer boots up fine UNTIL THE VERY END when I get an error message that says, "kernel32.dll" (or sometimes "ntoskrnl.exe") is unhappy and must close. When I close the message, the computer freezes, needing power-off to reboot. ;-(

5) Read online that this error means I must run FixBoot & maybe FixMBR from Recovery Console of my original M/S XP installation disk.

6) BUT, my original M/S disk is XP Home Ed (2001). I got a Microsoft package (2004) to upgrade from XP Home into XP Pro, but it is only software, not a boot-able disk. I then let M/S update my software to SP3.

7) Sadly, there is NO Recovery Console program on my XP Home Ed disk, nor in the XP Pro upgrade software. So no easy way to run FixBoot.

8) So, I used BartPE to run "WINNT.exe" (& later tried "WINNT32.exe") off my XP Home Ed disk, and launch FixBoot that way. BUT Fixboot warned, "the Windows version (= Pro) on this computer is NEWER than on this disk (= Home)." It then tried to connect to M/S website for some reason. I was off-line at the time, so I shut Fixboot down.

9) I then read online NEVER to let the old (= Home) version of Fixboot link to M/S because it will destroy up my Pro SP3 configuration. This information scared me away from using the Home version of Fixboot.

10) So, I used BartPE to run "bootsect.exe /nt52" off my original Vista disk (got in '07 before I learned Vista stinks). "bootsect.exe /nt52" is the Vista name for Fixboot.

11) Although "bootsect" says, "the boot sector (boot.ini) was updated correctly", now the computer only boots up to the blue screen "Installing Windows" and freezes, needing power-off to reboot. ;-(


What I have tried:

a) various cloning software: Macrium Reflect, DriveImage XML, EASEUS Partition Master, Seagate DiskWizard, WD's version of Acronis True Image, etc. No success. ;-(

b) swapping cables so Samsung uses the Velociraptor SATA cable. ;-(

c) read about Hardware Abstraction Layer archetecture issues to learn if the Samsung is incompatible HAL-wise with my 1.5 year old desktop, but this seems unlikely.

+++++++++++++++
Any ideas from better minds than mine?

Any one know what happens when XP Home version of Fixboot "fixes" a XP Pro upgrade configuration by connecting to M/S website?!?
+++++++++++++++++
thanks :-)

Edited by starwisecom, 01 July 2010 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Please provide motherboard and processor details
and

Sadly, there is NO Recovery Console program on my XP Home Ed disk

I cannot understand that the XP Home CD always came with the Recovery Console, as far as I know.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 30 June 2010 - 03:32 PM.

  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yes it did if it is a genuine Microsoft disk it has the recovery console.
What steps did you follow to get to the Recovery Console with your XP disk?
If you are using a upgrade disk then you are correct as the upgrade version is not meant to be a bootable disk from startup.
  • 0

#4
starwisecom

starwisecom

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I HAD SUCCESS!
THANKS FOR THE GREAT ADVICE! :-D

Last night I
1) used EASEUS Partition Master to successfully clone the entire source boot disk (NOT just the 'C' partition) to the new destination disk (leaving a lot of unallocated space left over, which I easily dealt with later).

2) DISCONNECTED the source disk's SATA cable and attached it to the new hdd BEFORE I REBOOTED!

Thought I tried this procedure before, but obviously not.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That is great news and everything is running correctly?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP