Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

How to make computer as fast as possible


  • Please log in to reply

#16
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
Here are the scans from this post: http://www.geekstogo...ost__p__1883508


NOTE: I couldn't delete 'IPVNMon' when I ran Autoruns. It showed this message:

http://img819.images...torunserror.png


* I attached the Autoruns log. Here is the Everest log:

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer NGUYEN (Nguyen)
Generator Robert v.2
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-08-09
Time 13:35


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name NGUYEN (Nguyen)
User Name Robert v.2

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 2800 MHz (14 x 200)
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension 8300
Motherboard Chipset Intel Canterwood i875P/E7210
System Memory 512 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (07/21/03)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X (64 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X
Monitor Dell 1800FP (Digital) [18" LCD] (7R47738K07AC)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801EB ICH5 - AC'97 Audio Controller [A-2/A-3]

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
IDE Controller Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive Maxtor 6Y120P0 (120 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Disk Drive WD 10EAVS External USB Device (931 GB, USB)
Optical Drive SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-248F (48x/24x/48x CD-RW)
Optical Drive SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-616T (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 114431 MB (98486 MB free)
G: (NTFS) 953867 MB (442970 MB free)
Total Size 1043.3 GB (528.8 GB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network:
Network Adapter Intel® PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Network Adapter NETGEAR WG121 802.11g Wireless USB2.0 Adapter (192.168.1.4)

Peripherals:
Printer HP Photosmart C4200 series
Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - Enhanced USB2 Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB Device NETGEAR WG121 802.11g Wireless USB2.0 Adapter
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device



Screenshot of Sensor: http://img840.images...erestsensor.png

Attached Files


Edited by ohsnap, 09 August 2010 - 12:17 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I've also noticed that, in addition to svchost, wuauclt.exe also takes up CPU memory.

Any help? Thanks!

Edited by ohsnap, 11 August 2010 - 06:40 PM.

  • 0

#18
Crowbar

Crowbar

    Teacher

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 3,911 posts

I've also noticed that, in addition to svchost, wuauclt.exe also takes up CPU memory.

Any help? Thanks!


I don't mean to butt in here, but, wuauclt.exe is your windows automatic updates, I don't think you want to disable that one, those updates are pretty important.
  • 0

#19
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
^ Yep, I googled that, and there's not much I can do regarding it. Thanks for your input!


Anybody mind taking a look at my posted logs? Thanks!
  • 0

#20
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
Any help?

I've researched MsMpEng.exe, and it seems it's best for me to leave it as is. Or should I go into services.msc and set it to Manual?
  • 0

#21
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
And I've also experienced the svchost/wuauclt problems ever since the latest XP SP3 update.

The problem is described here:

http://www.technibbl...ad.php?p=149908

--

Anybody have any free time to check my logs up there^? Thanks!
  • 0

#22
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I can post any logs necessary.

Thanks!
  • 0

#23
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Problem one:

System Memory 512 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)

Even though this may have worked in the past it is not the best to only be running with this little memory. The recommended amount is 1 gig.
Go to HERE and run the Crucial online scanner.
This will give you the exact memory configuration for your system.
You do not have to buy the memory from there, but write down the information and if you need assistance in purchasing the upgrade memory GTG can assist with suggestions also.


Problem Two:

Your Autoruns report is showing nothing in startups and thats impossible. Please redo that according to the instructions below.
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.


I will assist you also with Fenor and hopefully we can find a resolution.
  • 0

#24
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
^ Thanks for the quick reply.

I've attached the AutoRuns log, but in one of the entries that said File Not Found (IPVNMon), I couldn't delete it because it showed an error message saying:

Error deleting start setting: The specified service does not exist as an installed service.

Attached Files


  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well again Autoruns is showing nothing auto starting. Guess we'll have to do this a different way.
Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.
Post back with the results

When Windows Desktop appears, you will have a "nag screen" stating that your operating system is running in Diagnostic Mode, etc. etc. We know that since you used MSCONFIG to disable several of your Startups.
You can place a checkmark/tick into the little box at the left of the "nag screen" which says: "Never show this to me again." Then press OK.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
^ I just checked my msconfig, and nothing is auto-starting (nothing is checked). I've had it this way for a couple of months, with no problems at all on boot-up.
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

I've attached the AutoRuns log, but in one of the entries that said File Not Found (IPVNMon), I couldn't delete it because it showed an error message saying:

I don't know where you are seeing this entry as I see no Autoruns at all in order to find this entry.
What exactly is the issue now as it seems you said

I just checked my msconfig, and nothing is auto-starting (nothing is checked). I've had it this way for a couple of months, with no problems at all on boot-up.

So I'm a little confused as to what we're searching for right now. Can you narrow it down some so I can figure out which way to go from here.
  • 0

#28
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
^ Lol, I'm as confused as you are.

The only major problem I've noticed is that everytime I boot up my computer, svchost takes up more 100k memory (I checked in Task Manager).

Apparently, this has happened to people running XP SP3. It was something having to do with the automatic updates.

All I know is prior to that update (which I believe was a couple of months ago), I boot up and everything was running smoothly without lag.

Now it just lags whenever I boot up. After not doing anything for 15-20 minutes, everything is alright, but not really as speedy as it was a few months ago (before the update).
  • 0

#29
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That in part is the memory you have.
Try the following and see what happens

For HD only



Let's make sure all drives are using DMA mode

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your Hard drive controllers on both the Primary Controller and Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box open the drop down menu and select DMA if available
Redo the steps to check each of the Controllers
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect. Reply back with your results
  • 0

#30
ohsnap

ohsnap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I right clicked both Primary and Secondary Channel (it says Channel, not Controller, for me).

Both were already 'DMA if available.'

Or am I missing something?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP