Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

DVI vs VGA for laptop to external monitor

• Please log in to reply

Dreylivude

Dreylivude

• PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
I have a Samsung sync master 21 inch LCD and a Samsung laptop that has a vga, and hdmi out. I've been using the monitor for almost a year now with another computer hooked up through DVI and it looked great. No, since I moved into a smaller space, I have my laptop hooked up to it through a vga cable. The monitor itself has ports for both, so an adapter is not needed. However, now I am seeing this horizontal ripple effect down the monitor. This never happened when I used dvi. Is this an effect of VGA? I've never seen it before on monitors I've had in the past. It is less noticeable on lower resolutions, but it is still there.

I'm wondering if it's worth my buying an hdmi-dvi cable to use the hdmi port on my laptop for the out, instead of the vga. Any ideas as to the cause of this, or another possible solution?

Thanks for the help.

Advertisements

stettybet0

stettybet0

Trusted Tech

• Technician
  • 2,579 posts
What operating system are you running, and can you provide the model number of your monitor?

Dreylivude

Dreylivude

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
I'm running windows 7 Professional x64, and the monitor is a Samsung SyncMaster P2250

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,997 posts
  • MVP