Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Dvd Not Working


  • Please log in to reply

#1
starrs

starrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Hello
Today I found that my DVD drive was not working or showing up in Windows explorer. I tried everything I can think of including swapping it for another drive that I know works. I get this message from Device manager "Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)". I tried running Sytem Restore but that said that the restore was incomplete due to improper shut down. In fact for the past day or so everytime I shut down the PC it restarts even though I click 'Shutdown' and not restart.

Background: For some time I have had niggling little faults such as the time always needing to be reset on startup, also lots of crashes and lock ups when playing games, which I put down to overworking this old chip but this is completly new, I would be very greatful for any help. Thank You

Edited by starrs, 08 August 2010 - 06:09 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:)

time always needing to be reset on startup


This indicates a failing CMOS battery on the motherboard. This could also contribute to the settings in the BIOS not holding and you could be losing the drives there. Below is a picture of the Cmos battery aand you should be able to get them at any computer store or watch store.

How old is the system?

Edited by rshaffer61, 08 August 2010 - 06:05 AM.

  • 0

#3
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
After you change the battery be sure you go in to the bios to set the date and time.
Then we can start working on the other issues you have.
  • 0

#4
starrs

starrs

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

:)

time always needing to be reset on startup


This indicates a failing CMOS battery on the motherboard. This could also contribute to the settings in the BIOS not holding and you could be losing the drives there. Below is a picture of the Cmos battery aand you should be able to get them at any computer store or watch store.

How old is the system?


Thanks for the fast reply, I think this PC is about 8 years old, I ran 'Aida' for a system report and here is the summery:
Computer
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
Internet Explorer 6.0.2800.1106 (IE 6.0 SP1)


Motherboard
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1666 MHz (6.25 x 267) 2000+
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
System Memory 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (05/16/02)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM10)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM11)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM12)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM13)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM3)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM4)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM5)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM6)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM7)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM8)
Communication Port Bluetooth Serial Port (COM9)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display
Video Adapter nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 (MSI G4MX420)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420

Multimedia
Audio Adapter C-Media CMI8738/C3DX Audio Device
Audio Adapter VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller

Storage
Disk Drive Maxtor 6Y080L0 (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Optical Drive AXV CD/DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device (Virtual DVD-ROM)
Optical Drive HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-2500 (4x/24x DVD-ROM)

Partitions
C: (FAT32) 78140 MB (11274 MB free)

Input
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network
Network Adapter VIA PCI 10/100Mb Fast Ethernet Adapter


Peripherals
Printer hp deskjet 845c
Printer Symantec Fax Starter Edition
USB Device CSR Bluetooth Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
  • 0

#5
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Thanks for the report.
We will work on the other issues after the battery issue.

Some problems I see.

OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
System Memory 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
C: (FAT32) 78140 MB (11274 MB free)


There are a lot of security updates with SP2 and SP3
512mb is low for a computer these days, and
11274mb free on a 80gb drive means only 14% free. With low free space you can start having OS issues.
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I have to agree with 123Runner on the points he brings up.
I would also add the fact that you are running XP on a FAT32 file system instead of NTFS.
NTFS does not have the fragmenting problems like FAT32 and is a lot more stable in my opinion.
As stated once the battery issue is resolved and the settings are back to where they need to be we can work on the other issues to help your system along.
  • 0

#7
starrs

starrs

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Thanks for the report.
We will work on the other issues after the battery issue.

Some problems I see.

OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
System Memory 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
C: (FAT32) 78140 MB (11274 MB free)


There are a lot of security updates with SP2 and SP3
512mb is low for a computer these days, and
11274mb free on a 80gb drive means only 14% free. With low free space you can start having OS issues.


I have swopped the battery for one that is working, now the time is ok but I still have no DVD drive plus my desktop now looks weird ( see screen capture), I tried to run system restore again but got the same message and can now only access windows explorer through My Computer, PC is still not shutting down but re starting.
Image4.jpg

Edited by starrs, 08 August 2010 - 07:25 AM.

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go to

Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem


If this doesn't work then do the below instructions.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#9
starrs

starrs

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
I have now tried all of that and still no DVD drive, It is shown as detected during the startup process, but is not there when windows starts.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
One of these may help:
1. Uninstall the drive through Device Manager.
Restart computer. The drive will be automatically reinstalled.
or...
2. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060
Restart computer.
or...
3. Download, and run Restore Missing CD Drive patch
Double click on cdgone.zip to unzip it.
Right click on cdgone.reg, click Merge.
Accept registry merge.
Restart computer.
or...
4. Go to Device Manager, click a "+" sign next to IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers.
You'll see two items:
- ATA Channel0 (or Primary Channel)
- ATA Channel1 (or Secondary Channel)
Right click on each of them, and click Uninstall. Confirm.
Restart Windows. They'll be automatically reinstalled.

Thank's to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Try the following

Let's have you uninstall the DVD-Drive and then have you reboot and let windows reinstall the drivers for it. To do this, do the following:
  • Go to START-->RUN and type devmgmt.msc
  • In the new window that appears, click the + symbol next to CD/DVD-ROM Drives.
  • Locate the drive in question and right-click it and choose UNINSTALL.
  • Once it's finishing uninstalling, reboot your computer.
Once it's rebooted, try putting a DVD in it again and see if the same thing happens.

If after doing that your drive still doesn't show up, please download CDGone from HERE. Once it's downloaded, extract the files to your desktop and open the READ ME FIRST.TXT file and follow the instructions there.

Post back with how things are going after doing the above.
  • 1

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I see we are on the same road there 123Runner :) :) :) :)
  • 0

#13
starrs

starrs

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Try the following

Let's have you uninstall the DVD-Drive and then have you reboot and let windows reinstall the drivers for it. To do this, do the following:

  • Go to START-->RUN and type devmgmt.msc
  • In the new window that appears, click the + symbol next to CD/DVD-ROM Drives.
  • Locate the drive in question and right-click it and choose UNINSTALL.
  • Once it's finishing uninstalling, reboot your computer.
Once it's rebooted, try putting a DVD in it again and see if the same thing happens.

If after doing that your drive still doesn't show up, please download CDGone from HERE. Once it's downloaded, extract the files to your desktop and open the READ ME FIRST.TXT file and follow the instructions there.

Post back with how things are going after doing the above.


Hey It worked
I now have the DVD drive back and working:thumbsup: I did try that before I posted this question and it did'nt work then, anyway thanks a million guys :)
Now all I have to do is figure out how to get my desktop back.
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Whats wrong with the desktop?
  • 0

#15
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Also need to look at updating to SP 2 or SP3 and increasing ram.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP