Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XXXX SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME XXXX

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

sweenitodd

sweenitodd

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
:tazz: I hate the MSN homepage

hi there everyone, I am new to all this computer stuff so please be patient with me.

I have this problem I am unable to change my homepage from MSN, everytime I change it in
tools
internet options
address = http://uk.altavista.com/
and apply - ok
when I go back in it has gone back to = http://www.msn.co.uk/

It's driving me nuts I have tried evrything but still nothing works,
this is what I am running

norton antivirus - definitions up to date
adaware se - definitions up to date
zone alarm

I have scanned everything in both normal and in safe mode and hasn't found anything, I have adwatch running which comes with adaware se and everytime i go onto the internet it says "registry modification detected"

I don't want to keep changing it but I feel that MSN has hijacked my PC

I have read stuff on here and I feel that you experts may be able to help me out.

Many Thanks for your time

Ian AKA Sweenitodd

Edited by sweenitodd, 26 May 2005 - 11:04 AM.

Advertisements

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
You might have been "hijacked", but try downloading Spybot Search and Destroy from this site and open it in the Advance mode. It will give you options for locking some features for IE.

Let me know if you need instructions with S & D.

Ron

sweenitodd

sweenitodd

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts