Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

first time computer build

• Please log in to reply

BSCrossland

BSCrossland

• Pip
  • 6 posts
i am a college student with a small budget. but i am willing to pay a bit extra for that better part. how does all this look?
video card
Sound Card
Case
MOBO
CPU
Hard Drive
DVD Drive

any recommendations for the screen and ram?

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP
I recommend at least 4Gb of RAM. And since that motherboard supports dual channel, get your RAM in pairs. So get 2x2Gb or 4x1, or 4x2 for 8Gb.

You don't have an operating system listed. Understand you cannot use a copy of Windows if it came with another computer. You must by a new license and I recommend Windows 7 64-bit. Note that as a student, you should be able to get a decent discount through the bookstore. Same with Office.

You say you are on a small budget but you have a sound card listed. Why? That motherboard has decent 7.1 sound built in and unless you have serious, high-end speakers, it is not likely you will hear any significant difference with that card.

That motherboard also has built in graphics so again, why buy a separate card?

Finally, I don't see a power supply. You need a good PSU to ensure stability. I like Antec, Corsair, and Mushkin. The size needs to be determined after you select your hardware.

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts