Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Some questions about my first build!

• Please log in to reply

NaveedEaston

NaveedEaston

• Pip
  • 2 posts
So this is my first time building a computer, and I've spent most of the day on NewEgg putting together a build. I'd appreciate any thoughts or input on the components or anything I should switch out! Here goes:

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 ATX AMD
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 BE Deneb 3.4GHz
GPU: EVGA 768-P3-1362-AR GeForce GTX 460 760MB
RAM:GSKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 (is there any advantage to 1600 for general use? I don't care about benchmarks if I can't see a difference in every day gaming)
HDD: WD Caviar Black 640GB
PSU:CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX
DVD:ASUS DRW This DVD drive and my HDD are OEM, so I think I have to get cables for them - cables like these?

Also, from reading the reviews, it seems the included heatsink with the Phenom is awful, so I guess I need to purchase another one. Do I need something expensive, or will this cheapo Cooler Master work fine? It's gotten good reviews and appears to come with thermal grease pre-applied. If I ever overclock, it will be moderately, so I don't need heavy duty cooling.

And lastly, my case has spaces for a few extra 120mm fans. I was going to go ahead and purchase two of these. Thoughts? Do I even need more than the two fans the case comes with?