Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

hardware dying?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
So ive been having issues with starcraft 2 and counter strike source , my PC will restart by itself randomly, while playing Sc2 and counterstrike source, but can play older games like Diablo 2 with no problems. I turned off the automatic restart, but getting no blue screens. ive tried updating video card drivers, ect with no luck. the Restarts are alot less Frequent when i run on only 1 stick of ram(2gig)
system specs. Dont think its a heating issue GPU and CPU are around 40 degrees celcius at the time of the crash.
any help would be appretiated.

intel core2 duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00 ghz
3.2gig of ram
Nvidia geforce 9600GT
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:)
Sorry to hear you are having problems. You said this:

the Restarts are alot less Frequent when i run on only 1 stick of ram(2gig)

This leads me to believe you have a memory issue. Please do the following and post your results.
If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
...run memtest...

1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
2. Unzip downloaded memtest86+-2.11.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find memtest86+-2.11.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-2.11.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS

Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 0

#3
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
i ran Memtest with both Ram cards in, before i posted this thread(with no errors)
should i run the test without only 1 ram stick in?
The Restarts are being more frequent now with 1 ram stick as well

Edited by iheartmaryjane, 06 September 2010 - 12:57 PM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Nope if it passed with both sticks in it won't find anything with only one stick at a time.
Try this and let me know what it finds.

Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287
Make sure, you select tool, which is appropriate for the brand of your hard drive.
Depending on the program, it'll create bootable floppy, or bootable CD.
If downloaded file is of .iso type, use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/ to burn .iso file to a CD (select "Write image file to disc" option), and make the CD bootable.

NOTE. If your hard drive is made by Toshiba, unfortunately, you're out of luck, because Toshiba doesn't provide any diagnostic tool.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#5
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
western digital offers and EXE tool or a bootable iso, ok to run the EXE instead of a bootable?
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would suggest using the iso so that the system boots to it and does not depend on the os or the hd to run. It can then check the drive while it is not in use.
  • 0

#7
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
ahhh bummer, which i seen this earlier, will do a bootable test now, these were my results with the EXE tho.
Test Option: EXTENDED TEST
Model Number: WDC WD3200AAKS-75B3A0
Unit Serial Number: WD-WMAT13781882
Firmware Number: 01.03A01
Capacity: 320.07 GB
SMART Status: PASS
Test Result: PASS
Test Time: 18:04:48, September 06, 2010
will let you know once the bootable test is complete
  • 0

#8
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
get this error while running the bootable
unable to locate licence agreement file, DLglice.txt please make sure that the licence agreement file is located in the same path DLGdiag.exe
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK it seems both memory and hd are good. So lets take a look and see if the event log tells us anything.
  • Please download the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso VEW and save it to your Desktop:
  • Double-click VEW.exe
  • Under 'Select log to query', select (as appropriate):
    • Application
    • System
  • Under 'Select type to list', select (as appropriate):
    • Error
Then use the 'Date of events' or 'Number of events' as follows:

Either:
  • Click the radio button for 'Number of events'
    Type 6 in the 1 to 20 box (or any number from 1 to 20)
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.

  • Click the radio button for 'Date of events'
    In the From: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 13 07 2009
    In the To: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 13 07 2009
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.
Please post the Output log in your next reply
  • 0

#10
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
i did method A.

Vino's Event Viewer v01c run on Windows XP in English
Report run at 06/09/2010 7:25:49 PM

Note: All dates below are in the format dd/mm/yyyy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 3:15:52 PM
Type: error Category: 101
Event: 1002 Source: Application Hang
Hanging application DesktopMgr.exe, version 4.3.0.15, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 3:15:52 PM
Type: error Category: 101
Event: 1002 Source: Application Hang
Hanging application DesktopMgr.exe, version 4.3.0.15, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 2:38:43 PM
Type: error Category: 101
Event: 1002 Source: Application Hang
Hanging application DesktopMgr.exe, version 4.3.0.15, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 2:38:40 PM
Type: error Category: 101
Event: 1002 Source: Application Hang
Hanging application DesktopMgr.exe, version 4.3.0.15, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 2:21:50 PM
Type: error Category: 101
Event: 1002 Source: Application Hang
Hanging application firefox.exe, version 1.9.2.3855, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 11:34:28 AM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 1000 Source: Windows Live Messenger
The event description cannot be found.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 6:53:33 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 8032 Source: BROWSER
The browser service has failed to retrieve the backup list too many times on transport \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{96D73BED-E192-4CC4-85A7-FB87C310FF02}. The backup browser is stopping.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 2:24:14 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 8032 Source: BROWSER
The browser service has failed to retrieve the backup list too many times on transport \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{96D73BED-E192-4CC4-85A7-FB87C310FF02}. The backup browser is stopping.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 12:01:25 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 4321 Source: NetBT
The name "WORKGROUP :1d" could not be registered on the Interface with IP address 192.168.1.103. The machine with the IP address 192.168.1.100 did not allow the name to be claimed by this machine.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 10:22:43 AM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 8032 Source: BROWSER
The browser service has failed to retrieve the backup list too many times on transport \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{96D73BED-E192-4CC4-85A7-FB87C310FF02}. The backup browser is stopping.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 1:46:43 AM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 8032 Source: BROWSER
The browser service has failed to retrieve the backup list too many times on transport \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{96D73BED-E192-4CC4-85A7-FB87C310FF02}. The backup browser is stopping.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 06/09/2010 1:18:59 AM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 8032 Source: BROWSER
The browser service has failed to retrieve the backup list too many times on transport \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{96D73BED-E192-4CC4-85A7-FB87C310FF02}. The backup browser is stopping.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It seems the application causing most of your problems is DesktopMgr.exe
Do you use a Blackberry connected to your system?
It is not recommended to stop this service unless it is causing a problem but I am sure there is another way to fix this first.
Go to

Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

#12
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
i tried this last night before the mem test to, but i right clicked the C drive>properties>tools>error checking
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please do the steps I gave so that the programs runs before windows restarts.
  • 0

#14
iheartmaryjane

iheartmaryjane

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
thanks for the help, currently on stage 5 of 5, let you know shortly of the outcome.
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No problem. System File Checker will be the next step depending on the results.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP