Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

computer freeze


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok I see lot of net runtime errors.
Lets see if we can fix this by doing the following two sets of instructions. Do the first and then let me know if it finds any errors.
Do not go to the next set of instructions till you let me know how the first one reports.

Go to

Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#18
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
ok the only thing i am worried about is that you said not to shut down the computer when chkdisk is running. What if the computer crashes?
  • 0

#19
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If it crashes then we try it again.
If it crashes doing chkdsk then it will also let me know it's not the OS causing the problems since it isn't using the OS while running this.
  • 0

#20
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
I started the scan and it was going fine then it froze again. I was running speedfan at the time and the number in the corner said 105. Is this my processor temp? seems like it spiked big time, and again during a scan.
  • 0

#21
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok I'm confused. How can you run speedfan if the system has to reboot and is in dos when chkdsk is running?
  • 0

#22
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
sorry, one of my posts didn't work. The initial chkdsk scan went fine no problem. The computer froze when I ran sfc /scannow. That's where I was running speedfan.
  • 0

#23
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok try not running any other programs except the sfc.
If this doesn't work we may have to do a Repair Installation then.
Another choice would be to trya Parallel Installation
  • 0

#24
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
huh...When I restarted windows I got a warning from ati saying the catalyst control center is not supported by the driver version of your enabled graphics adapter. please update your ati graphics driver, or enable your ati adapter using the displays manager. I haven't had this message before. I am currently running the scan.
  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK this is just not working right.
Do you have a xp installation disk?
If so then lets do a Repair Installation. This will not erase your data but just repair and missing or corrupted XP files if there are any.

What I would suggest you do is to Backup your Data Files.
For this I would suggest using a External Hard Drive Enclosure. This will allow you to keep your Important Data safe and Separated from the main system in case of problems. The cost for this kind of Backup System has come down a lot. I would suggest a 500 Gig capacity for your needs. Since you will only be Backing Up Data Files Only this should be sufficient to do that for you. Follow the next two links to see examples of the price you will be looking at.
HERE
HERE

I suggest going to Microsofts Backup Tutorial and follow the steps to do a Backup to a External Drive and also it will guide you on how to do a Scheduled Backup even at night.

Another way you can do a Backup is by using DVD’s. This method is just as effective and can be done using the same steps as above.


After the above is done then go on to the next step.



Repair Installation Instructions

· Insert your Windows XP CD in your CD-ROM and then Restart your computer.

· At the first post screen start tapping the Del key to enter System Bios
· Find the Advance Options or Boot Sequence screen.
· You will need to change the boot sequence so that the CDrom is first and the HD is second.
· Press F10 to Save and Exit and then press Enter to accept.
· The system will now reboot
· When the "Press any key to boot from CD" message is displayed on your screen, press a key to start your computer from the Windows XP CD.
· When you see the following message displayed on the Welcome to Setup screen, press ENTER
· To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.
· At this point an option to press R to enter the Recovery Console is displayed. DO NOT SELECT THIS OPTION.

· On the Windows XP Licensing Agreement screen, press F8 to agree to the license agreement.
· Make sure that your current installation of Windows XP is selected and highlighted in the box, and then press the R key to repair Windows XP.
· Follow the instructions on the screen to complete Setup.

You can also go HERE
to read a step by step tutorial with screenshots.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
froze again. this time 3/4 of the way done. What do you think it is? Or what could it be? I think I will stop by staples tomorrow after work and pick up some thermal paste. Maybe I didn't clean off the processor well enough when I changed the paste last time. Why would the OS have problems when i just did a fresh install a few days ago? I do have a second hd that I carried a few files over with, could that be causing an issue?
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You can try the thermal paste way and see if that will cool the cpu down enough.
If the cpu is failing because of heat then that would answer for the freezing, crashing and problem reinstalling.
You could try unhooking the second drive and just booting with the main drive to see if that will work.
If applying thermal paste after you clean it well does not work then we have to look at either a faulty cpu or maybe a infection from files on the second hd.
  • 0

#28
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
So just finished cleaning off the old processor reapplying the thermal paste and cleaning all my fans. Started up the computer and so far it seems to be running a bit cooler. Still got the above ATI driver error on start up. So what should I do now? Reinstall windows and wipe out the second hard drive? I just reinstalled windows on this computer so I know how to go about doing that, but I'm worried the second hd will mess up the fresh install. Or should I try to repair this installation and see how it goes? Thank you for all your help so far.
  • 0

#29
darko2021

darko2021

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
So I ran the program that caused the crash the first time (spybot s&d) and the temp went up but not as bad as before (up to 95C at 100% load instead of 105C). I know this is still high but at least the program was able to finish. So now the processor is sitting at 65-68C and I am wondering what to do. Obviously something is causing the processor to run hot. could a bad installation of windows, bad drivers, bios, or malicious virus cause this? Or is it more likely a bad component? I was hoping to update a few components on this computer anyway (processor, video card, and RAM) but I don't want to put the money into it if there is a major flaw in the motherboard or psu. what do you think I should do?
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If the cpu is overheating then the most logical choice is the fan not turning at the right rate to cool correctly.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP