Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

How to use Voip with a KPN Thomson TG789 Experia box

• Please log in to reply

GramPics

GramPics

• PipPip
  • 30 posts
Hello
This is my first time to post on this site.
I search the FAQ but I could not find any help in previous topics so I will post my own.
I live in the Netherlands and have a ADSL internet connection. I used a SMC 7404 WBRB wireless ADSL Barricade modem/router to connect to the internet. I recently started using a Siemens Gigaset C450 IP phone and this worked well with the SMC modem/router.

My telephone/internet provider KPN, offered me a TV hook-up via the telephone lines.
I received a new modem/router the Experia box Thomson TG789.
However now I can not get the Voip phone to work.
I get the error message SIP registration Failed or Server not accessable. ;)

My question is;
does anyone know how I can set up my system so that I can have internet, TV via the internet and Voip calls?

I have heard about using both modems and routers but one modem needs to be switched off. Or are there other ideas.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I look forward to any replies. :D

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
do you still have the SMC device as well as the new KPN? or do you just use one or the other?

GramPics

GramPics

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
Hello dsenette and thank you for the quick reply.