Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows XP Pro Blue Screen Registry file failure...Well it started wit

• Please log in to reply

korkykat

korkykat

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi there
First of all, good evening to you all, i am a newbie to this great site but i would like to say hi!

Now for the bad stuff

I am running Windows XP pro and i have had the blue screen of death come up on my monitor....

Had these before which have been ram related, but this one was way different...

The first blue screen i had said....

Stop: c0000218 {Registry File Failure} The registry cannot load the hive (file): \SystemRoot\System32\Config\SOFTWARE or its log or alternate

I went on to a random google page which sent me to this web page...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307545/

I followed the prompts after starting recovery console and did the usual chkdsk /r which all whent well be it slow but eventually rebooted and now no blue screen but all i get is...

Windows could not start because the following file was missing or corrupt

\windows\system32\config\system

You can attempt to repair the file blah blah blah

Why o why did i go to microsoft Knowledge base

Please please help

Advertisements

Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts