Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer won't post

• Please log in to reply

Aelborn

Aelborn

• PipPip
  • 19 posts
I have a system that I have been running for about 5 years. It quit booting and I started checking into why. The motherboard has several bulging capacitors on it so I figured it wouldn't hurt to get another one. The original board was a PM8M-VH with a 478 socket. I ordered a P4P800-MX. I received a P4P800-MX/S. There are some differences in this motherboard and the one that I ordered. I could not find a manual on the /S board. The front panel connections are in different places and have a different configuration as to what pin is what. I managed to figure out that it was a standard config and got the connections all done and the computer will start to power up. The fans spin, I hear the hard drive spin up and some activity from the cpu and that is it. No post beeps, no video output. According to ASUS, this motherboard was manufactured by them for Gateway. Is it possible that it is in some way proprietary and won't work outside a Gateway chassis?

I have tried two different CPU's, and some different RAM sticks but all produce the same results. Any help that you can offer would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Aelborn

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,768 posts
Hi Aelborn, Sorry to hear you are having this issue.

The motherboard has several bulging capacitors