Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

blank screen & blinking curser

• Please log in to reply

sparkie1

sparkie1

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Help I'm a complete novice to computers, but I have read through a lot of the posts with 'blank screen, flashing curser' & couldn't seem to find a solution.
Problem: I was surfing the net when a message from Avast warned that a malicious item had tried to get into my system [sorry couldn't tell you what it said it happened so quickly]next thing the laptop screen went black & then re-appeared with light blue screen & blinking curser in top left of screen. switched off, pulled the plug & removed the battery, but when reinstated the power & battery still the same screen. will only let me press F2 & nothing else. After leaving F2 screen goes back to flashing curser & if any button on the keyboard is pressed I get a loud bleep & thats all. I can't find any of my Windows XP discs following recent move to new house Any suggestions please.

Advertisements

Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
See if Crtl - alt- delete will activate task manager

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,527 posts

will only let me press F2 & nothing else.

I suspect this means you tried F8 options upon bootup?
If not, try and then choose "last known good configuration".

What is the make and model?
Desktop or laptop?

sparkie1

sparkie1

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks for your replies,