Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

No system restore


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Gill2010

Gill2010

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I have lost my system restore. The page comes up but there is no calender to set a restore date on. I have tried all sorts. Also I've lost my I E. I installed Revo uninstaller yesterday and I think I have clicked on something by mistake. There is no I.E in the list on my control panel, yet the shortcut icon is still onscreen. I tried opening it up but nothing happens. Help !!!! :D
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
Click Start > Run, type in cmd and press [Enter]. At the command prompt, type sfc /scannow (including the space) and press [Enter]. (Note that this command may prompt you to insert your Windows XP CD). When SFC is done it will simply return you to the command prompt. Close the cmd window, reboot and test to see if everything is working ok now.

--

If it is not fixed, try a repair:

  • Insert your Windows XP CD in your CD-ROM drive.
  • Totally power down your PC (and wait about 10-15 seconds).
  • Power up your PC and let it boot from the Windows XP CD.

    (Note: If it doesn't boot from the CD, reset your BIOS to try and boot from CD first).
  • In Windows Setup, go past the "C" and "R" repair options by pressing [Enter] just as if you were going to be doing a clean install.
  • Eventually you'll get an option to "Repair an existing installation". That's the one you want.

    (If it asks about formatting you've gone wrong, so start over).

When the repair is complete test to see if everything is working ok now.

--

After doing either, or both of these repairs, be sure to visit Windows Update and at the very least get all of the updates marked 'Critical'.
  • 0

#3
Gill2010

Gill2010

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I dont have a cd ... :D
  • 0

#4
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
Did you try the "sfc /scannow" from the cmd prompt? If it prompts you for a CD, abort ... until you can borrow a Windows XP (same version) CD.
  • 0

#5
Gill2010

Gill2010

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Yes I tried that, but it did ask for the cd. I dont know anyone else who has the xp either. Anyway round this apart from calling out an engineer? :D
  • 0

#6
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
No, there is no 'magic' way to repair corrupt files. They need to be replaced.

XP's SFC program was designed by the Microsoft Windows XP team specifically for figuring out which of the thousands of XP operating system files might be corrupt and then replaces them ... and all within a couple of minutes or so.
  • 0

#7
Gill2010

Gill2010

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Will i be able to access that from my computer?
  • 0

#8
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Its the command that was given to you in post 2.
You need a CD of the same type as you have.
That is where we need to start.
  • 0

#9
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts

Will i be able to access that from my computer?

In post #5 you said you did and it ask you for the CD.






Edited by SpywareDr, 28 November 2010 - 06:52 AM.

  • 0

#10
Gill2010

Gill2010

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Ok, I think I get it. Basically without a disc, there is nothing I can do. Is that right? :D
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
Correct.
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Can I add something here Spyware and 123Runner?
All info from the cd is stored in the I386 folder on the HD. Depending on the info that may be corrupted it may be possible to access that info from the folder on the HD> It is a few steps to tell the sfc to access the hd to try this method.
You might try this and see if it will work this way.


Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!
  • 0

#13
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Forgot about that. Hopefully they are not corrupted. :D
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep that would stop it for sure if it's corrupted.
  • 0

#15
SpywareDr

SpywareDr

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
Description of Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 System File Checker (Sfc.exe)
http://support.micro....com/kb/310747/

Description of the Windows File Protection feature
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/222193
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP