Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unable to "Save" internet Files".

• Please log in to reply

The old Submariner

The old Submariner

• PipPip
  • 58 posts
Hi everyone, this is my first time on this site so please excuse me if I don't put my question correctly.
Up until a few weeks ago, before downloading any file or programme from the internet I would always click on "Save" first and once the file was saved in "My downloads" file I would then scan it with AVG just to make sure it was not hiding any nasty surprises. Now I find that the only way I can download any required file or programme is to click on "Run".
When clicking on "Save" the info box just goes grey, the screen goes white and then reverts back to the previous screen offering the option to "Run" or "Save".
I have just spent nearly fifty pounds on a so called computer expert who tried for nearly two hours to solve this annoying problem only to be beaten and then charge me for the pleasure.
If anyone could help to solve this I would be very grateful.
Regards Graham.

Advertisements

phillipcorcoran

phillipcorcoran

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
Essential piece of info missing: Which web browser are you having the "Save" problem with?

It matters because it might or might not be a browser-specific problem, and that will affect the possible solutions we can suggest.

Edited by phillipcorcoran, 04 December 2010 - 05:35 AM.

The old Submariner

The old Submariner

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts