Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Total newbie can't set up network

• Please log in to reply

jessie19

jessie19

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello!

I'm thankful for this great resource.

Here is my situation:

- I have a Windows XP laptop connected via ethernet cable to my wireless router (which is connected via ethernet cable to the cable router from my ISP)
- I have a Windows XP latop which connects to the internet wirelessly through the wireless router. The laptop is a netbook with no optical drive.

The wireless router is made by "my essentials."

I want to connect the computers so I can share files between the two.

I've searched the internet up and down but I haven't been able to find out how to do this. Is this a home network that I'm trying to set up? Does the netbook have to connect through the PC or something?

I've run Network Setup Wizard on both computers. I named the workgroup "123" on both when prompted. Then I restarted the computers. But after restarting nothing happened. I'm still not able to share anything.

Help please!

Advertisements

D-Berd

D-Berd

• PipPipPip
  • 238 posts
http://helpdeskgeek....-two-computers/

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
That link doesn't look too bad. Check it out and see how you go. If everything is right from what I read, you are now at the stage where you need to set a folder to be shared.