Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

reformat


  • Please log in to reply

#1
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
can anyone teach me how to reformat my computer?
i am running windows 7 64bit
asusp7h55-M LX i got the cd and windows 7 and windows 7 home premium cd
please help me.
but just asking a question,after i reformat do i still have my computer built in software like internet explorer all this paint and stuff like that?
will i still got my graqic card and my keyboard and mouse?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

i got the cd and windows 7 and windows 7 home premium cd

So you have two cd's?
  • 0

#3
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
sorry type wrong i mean i got the windows 7 home premium CD

its suppose to be (can anyone teach me how to reformat my computer?
i am running windows 7 64bit
asusp7h55-M LX i got the windows 7 home premium cd.
please help me.
but just asking a question,after i reformat do i still have my computer built in software like internet explorer all this paint and stuff like that?
will i still got my graqic card and my keyboard and mouse?

Edited by TZB, 16 December 2010 - 10:36 PM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

do i still have my computer built in software like internet explorer all this paint and stuff like that?

Internet Explorer is included with Win7.
Paint, Notepad, Wordpad things like this are in the OS by default.

will i still got my graqic card and my keyboard and mouse?

Keyboard and mouse the OS uses default drivers for those.
If you have a multimedia keyboard you may have to get drivers for the extended functions but that is usually not a issue now.
Video card if it is onboard then the MOBO drivers disk will have it.
If a add on card it would depend on the age of it if win7 has the drivers. If not we can most likely find them for you.
Now to do a format and reinstall of Win7 follow the tutorial below.

Win7 Reinstall Tutorial
  • 0

#5
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
thanks alot
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You are welcome.
Is this the information you needed? :D
  • 0

#7
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
it should be but just asking a question, how many times can you reformat using the same disk

and how do you find out which driver do you install windows 7 on because my uncle helped me with everthing for this computer but he is in overseas for buisness because when i wanted to reformat the screen shows me three drivers and i dont know which to reformat

Edited by TZB, 17 December 2010 - 11:56 PM.

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

it should be but just asking a question, how many times can you reformat using the same disk

As long as the disk is not damaged then you can reuse it endlessly.
If you are asking about the hard drive that us hard to tell since they are all a but different in their life span.
I've had hard drives last 10 years or more and some last less then month.

Your main hd is always the one your OS goes on unless you are doing a multi boot with more then one hard drive. If you don't know how many hard drives you have try this.

Go to Start then to Run
Type in compmgmt.msc and click Enter
On left side click on Disk Management
On right side you will see you hard drive.
Now I need you to take a screenshot and attach it to your next reply. Do the following to take a screenshot while the above is open and showing on your desktop.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#9
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
this is it

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg

  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The partition marked as C is the one you will install the OS to.
The last partition seems to be used for Data I'm guessing at this point.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
when i reach the part which show the drive, there is no c drive
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is it asking about a existing Windows installation?
  • 0

#13
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
ya it ask where do you want to install windows 7
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep then what you want it to do is to replace the existing installation.
It should then ask about formatting and then warn you that all data will be lost.
  • 0

#15
TZB

TZB

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
do i format all the drive that is shown or delete them than install windows7

Edited by TZB, 20 December 2010 - 03:30 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP