Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Screen blacks out and freezes

• Please log in to reply

yerffoeg

yerffoeg

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi! I'm really new and I would really like to join the community here. Well the problem is with my new PC I just bought last week.
Specification:
-Processor pentium® dual core [email protected]
-2x2GB RAM
-System type 32-bit OS Windows 7 Ultimate
-Display adapters:Intel® G41 Chipset Express
-VGA Asus Nvidia GTX460
-Motherboard Asrock G41M-VS3
-Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W PSU

As you can see I'm new to the computer hardwares and all, I've just begun to learn about them. Now if there's any information you'd think necessary to analyze the problem please ask me.

Problem:
I keep getting these computer freeze or a black screen when running a heavy program(Ex. running crysis or even running the performance test on control panel). There would be a beep and then it would blackout. The monitor's power button would flash as if the CPU was turned off but the CPU's still on. I can't figure out the what's causing this. I'm hoping I'll find answers soon.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,716 posts
Hi yerffoeg :D sorry to hear you are having this issue.
That is a decent set up you have there and there are no prime suspects jumping out at me.
Because the computer was only purchased last week I would recommend you return it and have the supplier put it right, this is to avoid the possibility of voiding the warranty by opening the case.