Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Remote Connection to XP from 7

• Please log in to reply

imhooks

imhooks

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi guys/gals,

Im having a bit of trouble connecting to my desktop(running XP home SP3). Using my new laptop with Windows 7. I have done everything under the sun to set it up. Ive googled and tried everything. I try to connect to the desktop and it gives me the unable to connect, and 3 reasons why. Is there anything I am missing between these two OSs? I am new to win7.

I have opened ports(3389, etc.) I have allowed the firewall to open that port. I am on a wireless network. My router is set up as well(netgear). I have set up the computer properties, remote tab, allow users...

Am I missing something? I type in the IP of the desktop(which is obv the same as my laptop). I type in the name of the computer "i.e. 'desktop'" Im so frustrated. If anyone has any ideas, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

-Adam

Advertisements

phillipcorcoran

phillipcorcoran

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
I type in the IP of the desktop(which is obv the same as my laptop)

That's probably the reason you're having trouble, imhooks.
On any network setup, two computers on the same network cannot have the same IP number.

imhooks

imhooks

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 2 posts