Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Crashing System- not fixed after Windows re-install


  • Please log in to reply

#16
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Okay great I'll do that! My computer is a TOshiba, but my hard drive is fujitsu though, if that makes any difference.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ahh ok, HERE is the diagnostics for Fujitsu and you want the one marked FJDT (Fujitsu ATA Diagnostic Tool) v6.90 (11.03.2006)
I'm sorry I thought you hd was Toshiba.
  • 0

#18
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
That's okay! The Fujitsu one is the first one I first tried that only had the .exe file. And I don't know how to make a bootable CD from that.
  • 0

#19
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Using the image file from Fujitsu you then use image burn to make the bootable cd. Then reboot with the cd in the drive and the diagnostics will run outside of windows.
  • 0

#20
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Sorry, it's just that the fujitsu one gives a .zip file that only has a .exe file. The .exe is the actual program that I need to boot on startup. How do I turn that into an image file to be able to burn it? Or should I just burn the .exe file as is and it'll boot from it?
  • 0

#21
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Okay I think I figured out how to make it from the .exe, will try it now
  • 0

#22
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Unfortunately it didn't work. I have MAgic ISO and I followed these instructions(http://www.magiciso....ootable-cd.html) but it didn`t work.
I tried to create an image file first, then saved it. Then I started a new project, uploaded the iso I had created, and followed the instructions to make it bootable. Then saved. Burned it, tried it in my laptop, got a black screen at startup.

Not sure how to boot from the .exe file. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • 0

#23
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yeah something isn't right cause what you should have is a file with the extension .iso at the end of it and not .exe
  • 0

#24
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
It only gives an .exe. This is the link it gives : http://www.fis.fujit.../fjdt_v6.90.zip
Which has a notepad file and the exe!
  • 0

#25
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
"JDT for Windows runs on the Windows Operating System and is a quick way of diagnosing a suspect hard drive without having to disassemble your PC and remove your hard drive. "

ACtually, how about I just try to run the .exe file from my laptop! Maybe that`ll work!
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
I ran it from my desktop, and it couldn't find my hard drive
"No hard disk drive has been identified in your system"
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK this is strange. Let's find out for sure what you have.


Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#28
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 69,964 posts
Interesting - now runs and hides again
  • 0

#29
maximem

maximem

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Alrighty then! Aren't we all having fun yet!

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer MAXIME
Generator Max
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2011-01-18
Time 15:33


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name MAXIME
User Name Max

Motherboard:
CPU Type Mobile Intel Celeron M, 1466 MHz (11 x 133)
Motherboard Name TOSHIBA Satellite A110
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 448 MB
BIOS Type Phoenix (06/01/06)

Display:
Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series (64 MB)
Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series (64 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon Xpress 200M (RC410M)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter ATI SB450 - High Definition Audio Controller

Storage:
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Disk Drive SanDisk Cruzer USB Device (3 GB, USB)
Disk Drive FUJITSU MHT2060BH (60 GB, 5400 RPM, SATA)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4082N
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 57231 MB (47952 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse Alps Pointing-device

Network:
Network Adapter Atheros AR5006EG Wireless Network Adapter
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Modem TOSHIBA Software Modem

Peripherals:
USB1 Controller ATI SB450 - USB Controller
USB1 Controller ATI SB450 - USB Controller
USB2 Controller ATI SB450 - USB 2.0 Controller
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device
Battery Microsoft AC Adapter
Battery Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery

Attached Thumbnails

  • screenshot.jpg

  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep it's a Fujitsu drive and their software finds no drive. Interesting for sure.
Your drive is a 60 gig IDE drive so you have to make sure if you replace it you get a IDE interface drive.
I believe the issue will be corrected with the new memory.
With only the 512 memory installed are you still getting any BSOD's?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP