Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Upgrade needed?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
I currently run an Intel Pentium 4 CPU 300GHz Processor with a NVIDIA GEFORCE 9400 GT and 8192MB RAM With Available OS Memory: 3582MB RAM. But every time I play Company of Heroes I am lagging a ton! It literally freezes the game and takes it a few extra seconds to catch up even on normal settings and not ultra. I am trying to upgrade my computer to be more acquainted with graphical quality games and play nicely on them without having to wait ten minutes for the computer to catch up. What can I do?

*The video card I had prior to this one, was a 512 MB but this one is a 1GB DDR2.

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.100618-1621)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: 965P-DS3
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3582MB RAM
Page File: 2262MB used, 4900MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode

Attached Files


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello WilliamRP1988.... Welcome to
GeeksToGo, :D
;) ;)

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
  • Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time.
  • Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been
    more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly
    then.
  • Please do the following and supply the requested information as needed. If you
    don't understand my instructions please ask and I will try to explain them
    clearer for you.
  • Do not attempt any steps unless instructed or ask before to
    make sure they will not cause any further issues.



From the specs you have posted there is no reason for your system not being able to do the games.
I have a sneaking suspicion this is software related. Lets take a look and see what pops up if you don't mind.

Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.









Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#3
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Here are the two summaries, and the snapshot.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Everest looks good but the voltags on the +12 volt rail does not look right. I'll check that in a bit with another program. First lets deal with the Autoruns.
Before I start with that I notice you are using Utorrent. ;) :D

Although using P2P programs like Utorrent are not illegal, the files downloaded could contain potential infections. By continuing to use these programs will put you at a higher risk for infection. If you continue to use these programs GTG may not be able to provide assistance in the future.


Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:


+ "Adobe ARM"
+ "Adobe Reader Speed Launcher"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"
+ "WinampAgent"
+ "MagicDisc.lnk"
+ "SpybotSD TeaTimer" This one is optional but has been known to slow performance down. If you choose to uninstall I can suggest SuperAntiSpyware as a good replacement



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged
Please do not run any other Auslogics programs other then this one as they may cause unwanted results.
  • 0

#5
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ "Adobe ARM"
+ "Adobe Reader Speed Launcher"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"
+ "WinampAgent"
+ "MagicDisc.lnk"


Will this uninstall these programs? If so, why these specific programs?
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No it will not uninstall the programs it simply stops them from auto starting.
They are not needed as they run automatically when needed. They do not need to be running all the time when they are not being used.
  • 0

#7
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
SuperAntiSpyware

Does this get un-checked as well if I install it?
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No if you uninstall the Spybot program then you install SuperAntiSpyware.
It is a lot less on the system resources which in turn will not slow your system down.
  • 0

#9
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Okay, after the defrag do I need to post anything?
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Let me know how the system is running then.
You may have to try the game to see if your freezing problem has lessened.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
It has indeed lessened. However, it's still badly lagging just in scrolling across the screen.

Edited by WilliamRP1988, 21 January 2011 - 05:48 PM.

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok not a problem. Have you finished all the steps including running TFC and Auslogics Defrag?

If so then please do the following.

Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.
Post back with the results
  • 0

#13
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.

Post back with the results

Everything seems to be going smoothly. However, all the boxes:

AVG Internet
Microsoft Windows Operating System
Camera Monitor Application
Start CCC
SuperAntispyware
WinampAgent
Microsoft Office XP

Were the only boxes to be unchecked and I unchecked them before rebooting the system.
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

Start CCC

This must be the Catalyst Control Center for you ATI video card?
Leave it unchecked

Camera Monitor Application

Leave this unchecked.

WinampAgent
Microsoft Office XP


Leave these unchecked....

Now check the others and restart. Let me know how everything works then with the game.
  • 0

#15
WilliamRP1988

WilliamRP1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
It still struggles to just keep up with the scrolling. Also, I did a performance check in the graphics setting of the game it said as follows:

Average Frames per second: 10.1
Maximum Frames per second: 15.0
Minimum Frames per second: 8.5

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP