Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

I accidently installed a second incidence of XP. One was plenty!


  • Please log in to reply

#1
kcbolen

kcbolen

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
My granddaughter brought me her computer running preinstalled XP Home loaded with ad/spy/virus'. I've cleaned up the malware but the search and help/support functions are missing. I borrowed a full copy of XP Home to use to retrieve some files to repair her system.
To demonstrate my vast computer knowledge instead of repairing her os I installed a second copy of xp on the same hdd.
Now when I boot I get a choice of booting to the new 'pirated' copy or booting to her valid copy. Now It's sorta knda like a 2 boot system. At startup the 1st screen is 'press f2 for bios....' The second screen gives a boot choice of 2 lines of "MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION" Using the first option it boots to the new, unauthorized version. Using the second choice boots to the original pre-installed version. Some files are present in both versions, some not. Running Belarc on each ot the installs shows the same hardware of course but quite a few differnces in the software including different keys and even the computer name, one designated Sweetpeas98 and one Sweetpeas2. While I'm booted to one version the other is invisible. So I don't see how to delete the unauthorized version from within the legal version.
As computers & I often have different ideas of right thing/wrong thing. A question that seems logical to me doesn't necessarily make it right, but: Since the computer will by default boot to the new version after 30 seconds, can I use the uninstall command on the XP install disk to remove the new install? And would it leave the original version relatively intact?
Any suggestions or input would be greatly appreciated.
Ken B

  • 0

Advertisements







Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP