Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

windows xp very slow


  • Please log in to reply

#61
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

Just having trouble with the service pack 3 and the Microsoft Security Essentials won't download.

Are you doing the SP3 through Microsoft updates?
Are you getting a error when trying to download MSE?
  • 0

Advertisements


#62
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Frostyr1

GlaryInitialize StatusReady ScheduleRun at user logon Next Run Time Run CommandC:\Program Files\Glary Utilities\initialize.exe Maximum Run Time3 Days, 0 Hours, 0 Minutes Last Run Time3/9/2011 12:34:45 PM Last Result0

YOU have this on your computer, it is unwanted, unhealthy and in fact, not to put it to strongly, most likely dangerous to the health of your system.
It is in effect a registry cleaner, booster make your computer go faster program.
My strong advice
KEEP AWAY FROM THEM
If you click here
http://miekiemoes.bl...weaking_13.html
you can see why - from an expert in these matters.

I recommend you uninstall it.
If you have any difficulties doing so pls post.

Establish a restore point first.
Start
Programs
Accessories
System Tools
System Restore
Create restore point.
The UNINSTALL that Glary Utilities.

I have far more to follow but I will give you the rest when you have sorted IE8 and SP3.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 09 March 2011 - 05:44 PM.

  • 0

#63
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
That error you received on SP3 means this
Windows Update (WU) - Error 0x8024200D has a description of: WU_E_UH_ NEEDANOTHERDOWNLOAD

BOTH instances imply that the full set of files required for installation of your Service Pack have not downloaded to your computer and so the Service Pack can NOT yet install.

As rshaffer61 has asked are you using Windows Update site or trying to install from the actual SP3 individual download that is about 230Mb. That is a last resort as it is not really meant for an individual install.

GO windows update and if you have previously hidden updates, you have not if you do not know what I mean.
Accept the critical updates, noting that some may say THIS MUST BE INSTALLED SEPARATELY.
If any do say that, install that one and then reboot to complete. If that is the case it will say installing stage 1 of 2 and 2 of 2. before shutting down and then 3 of 3 on reboot.
-Usually this display but not always.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 09 March 2011 - 06:03 PM.

  • 0

#64
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
I need activeX before I can do SP3. I don't want install the wrong thing>
  • 0

#65
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
I now have IE8 and have uninstalled Glary.
  • 0

#66
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You should be able to update that through Windows Update page HERE
  • 0

#67
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
When I open Internet Explorer, I now get a bulletin at the top saying add-ons disabled. When I click on it to manage add-ons, it says they are all enabled.
  • 0

#68
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What version of IE?
  • 0

#69
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Go Start
Type in run
"msconfig"
click to check the Normal boot.
Reboot
and on IE go to the link that rshaffer61 just sent you or click Safety on the lower menu bar and click windows update.
Now obtain the updates paying attention to my notes in post 63
  • 0

#70
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
When I try to get SP3, this always comes up.

Attached Thumbnails

  • paint.JPG

  • 0

Advertisements


#71
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Click on Install ActiveX and let it install.
  • 0

#72
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
That's not an option!
  • 0

#73
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Are you running IE in no add on mode?
  • 0

#74
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Re your screenshot post 70.
See the top warning bar yellow in colour.
Click here to., etc. Click that

No 1. item on your screenshot

It is a security feature to ensure that you agree to any add-ons, sometimes offered but unwanted by other websites. This one is needed.

Looking at your post again, I think you may have tried this.
Have you altered any settings in IE or left it as installed.

If you are starting it from a desktop shortcut.
Start instead from the Start menu.
Click Start
Click Internet explorer on that menu.

If you click Tools, can you then click Manage Add-ons from there or is it greyed out.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 10 March 2011 - 12:33 PM.

  • 0

#75
frostyr1

frostyr1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
I finally got SP3 and Security Essentials downloaded. I had to enable ActiveX and Plugins before it would get rid of the information bar stating add ons had been disabled. I have looked back through all the posts, and think I have completed everything so far.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP