Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

slow start up

• Please log in to reply

shroomer51203

shroomer51203

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
well i am new at computers and i have a dell and am running windows xp....i ran a scan and i have 259 errors most are in register.
i do not have the cash to register for pc clean up or anything like that at the moment so is there any way i can fix these problems myself? also i am usuing AVG free addition for security. thanks for the help.

P.S....i have been getting error signs too..some say internet explorer script not running....and a few others sorry i cant remember right now.

Advertisements

ZaRMan

ZaRMan

• PipPipPip
  • 164 posts
Be very careful when looking for programs such as "Startup/PC Booster" more often then not these programs contain malware. If you are willing to pay, TuneUp Utilities is a very good piece of software, but remember to only buy from their official website and secure payment page. But I would recommend a free program called CCleaner. You can use it to 'clean' the registry, but be careful, sometimes it will get rid of vital registry entries. The best option to use is the startup tool, blocking applications that you seldom use from starting up at boot and increasing boot time significantly. Try these options and post back results. Hope this helpedPosted Image

shroomer51203

shroomer51203

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
i have ccleaner but that really didn't help....as far as blocking apps i seldom use i will try that thank u for ur input...