Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I need help replacing my laptop screen!

• Please log in to reply

abenov20

abenov20

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
I have a Sony Vaio VGN-CS110E and the screen is going out on it. I'm trying to find a replacement screen but everywhere I look it's like they're speaking Greek! If you need further information just tell me how to get it and I'll provide it asap! I really need to do this quickly I'm a photographer and need my computer to edit my photos.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts
Hi abenov20,
The laptops screen details http://www.notebook-...--1-p-7269.html as long as your replacement screen matches the above specs you will be fine, a cautionary note be sure any replacement has the back-light/inverter included.
Before you go to the trouble and expense of replacing the whole screen can you describe what you mean by "the screen is going out on it" as there are other possibilities for your display issue, bad back-light/inverter, the MB to screen video ribbon being damaged or not connected correctly or a flaky video chip.
Can you connect the laptop to an external screen via the VGA port to see if you get a stable display, you may need to toggle between screens by using the Fn and one of the F1 - F12 keys, possibly the F5 key.

abenov20

abenov20

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts