Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer Freezing and going to sleep


  • Please log in to reply

#46
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts

Who Crashed Analyse


Didn't understand that.

Got BSOD
Page fault in non paged area.
I saw Win32k.sys
and then something about Address BF802F65
  • 0

Advertisements


#47
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Sorry, a moment of forgetfulness, thought we had installed Who Crashed.
Please do so
http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

and then run the program and click on Analyse.
  • 0

#48
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
Ok, thanks, here's what it found:

Crash dump directory: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump

Crash dumps are enabled on your computer.


On Thu 3/10/2011 10:33:57 PM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini031011-01.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x606BA)
Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFFFFFAC37DCE8, 0x0, 0xFFFFFFFFF841C0A1, 0x0)
Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: NT Kernel & System
Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver which cannot be identified at this time.


On Thu 3/10/2011 10:33:57 PM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\memory.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: fltmgr.sys (fltmgr!FltGetIrpName+0x12E0)
Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFFFFFAC37DCE8, 0x0, 0xFFFFFFFFF841C0A1, 0x0)
Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\fltmgr.sys
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: Microsoft Filesystem Filter Manager
Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in a standard Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver on your system which cannot be identified at this time.
  • 0

#49
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
I would suggest you to rename the file FLTMGR.sys that is present in the system32 folder and then run an SFC (System File Checker) scan on the system to replace the file and check whether the issue is resolved. Follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Rename the file FLTMGR.sys

a. Click on Start menu and click on My Computer.

b. Click on Windows and click on System32.

c. Locate Driver folder and search for the file FLTMGR.sys

d. Rename the file by right clicking on it and then clicking rename.


Then - if it still crashes I think you are going to have to go through this again step by step
This utility makes it easy to see which versions are loaded :

DriverView - Free - utility displays the list of all device drivers currently loaded on your system.
For each driver in the list, additional useful information is displayed: load address of the driver,
description, version, product name, company that created the driver, and more.
http://www.nirsoft.n...driverview.html

For Drivers check System Maker as fallbacks and Device Maker's which are the most current.
Control Panel - Device Manager - Display Adapter - write down the make and complete model
of your video adapter - double click - Driver's tab - write down the version info. Now click UPdate
Driver (this may not do anything as MS is far behind certifying drivers) - then Right Click -
Uninstall - REBOOT this will refresh the driver stack.

Repeat that for Network - Network Card (NIC), Wifi, Sound, Mouse and Keyboard if 3rd party
with their own software and drivers and any other major device drivers you have.

Now go to System Maker's site (Dell, HP, Toshiba as examples) (as rollback) and then Device
Maker's site (Realtek, Intel, Nvidia, ATI as examples) and get their latest versions. (Look for
BIOS, Chipset and software updates at System Maker's site while there.)

Download - SAVE - go to where you put them - Right Click - RUN AD ADMIN - REBOOT after
each installation.

Always check in Device Manager - Drivers tab to be sure the version you are installing actually
shows up. This is because some drivers rollback before the latest is installed (sound drivers
particularly do this) so install a driver - reboot - check to be sure it is installed and repeat as
needed.

Repeat at Device Makers - BTW at Device Makers DO NOT RUN THEIR SCANNER - check
manually by model.

Manually look at manufacturer's sites for drivers - and Device Maker's sites.
http://pcsupport.abo...riverdlmfgr.htm

Edited by Macboatmaster, 11 March 2011 - 04:01 PM.

  • 0

#50
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
"I would suggest you to rename the file FLTMGR.sys that is present in the system32 folder and then run an SFC (System File Checker) scan on the system to replace the file and check whether the issue is resolved. Follow the steps mentioned below."

I did this, renaming it FLTMGROLD. After SFC, I do not see a new FLTMGR, I still see FTMGROLD.

Edited by jones082, 12 March 2011 - 11:01 AM.

  • 0

#51
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Did SFC ask for the CD and did it then run OK or did it tell you, this was the wrong CD.
Usually it requires the SP3.
If it did keep asking for the CD and you had to hit the ignore button, then there is a way round it.
  • 0

#52
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
It did not ask for a disk. It actually just ran with no problem.
  • 0

#53
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Please do not think I do not believe you but I am rather surprised given the errors you had.
Can you just confirm that you are typing
"sfc /scannow" in the run box.
  • 0

#54
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If I can add something here guys.
The lack of memory is part of the issue. Increasing the memory will help more then anything else we do. I would suggest looking at that first.
  • 0

#55
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts

Please do not think I do not believe you but I am rather surprised given the errors you had.
Can you just confirm that you are typing
"sfc /scannow" in the run box.

I was surprised as well. I am at work, I will try it again when I return.
  • 0

Advertisements


#56
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts

If I can add something here guys.
The lack of memory is part of the issue. Increasing the memory will help more then anything else we do. I would suggest looking at that first.


I am not opposed to getting more memory, and I appreciate your input, but something else is wrong here. My computer had been running just fine, I have added no programs and am actually placing less demand on it than ever. I am mostly listening to streaming audio and running a word processor. I don't think those things are straining my memory...they never have before.

This type of thing has happened a few times. In the past there seemed to be problem with Windows Update and my drivers. This seems very much like a repeat of same.

Edited by jones082, 12 March 2011 - 12:17 PM.

  • 0

#57
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
I of course agree, with rshaffer61 as I said this more or less from the start

If it has a noticeable difference on clean boot, which is in many respects similar to Safe mode as it loads a minimal set of start up items and processes.
then you have something which is either conflicting with another application or simply too much on the computer by way of itmes loading - NOT only of course the startup items, for the amount of ram you have.
I am always hesitant to appear critical in anyway of someones setup, but you do have to face the fact that more ram is about the cheapest performance improvement you can make.
HOWEVER that is for the time being a matter we can leave.



Additionally

listening to streaming audio

ram intensive

Does the station you are using offer a stream in different formats.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 12 March 2011 - 12:24 PM.

  • 0

#58
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You have run the following:
  • chkdsk /r
  • sfc /scannow
  • Memory diagnostics
  • HD diagnostics


None have shown anything of any significance. I would suggest the following to see if it will shed some light on the issues at hand.

Please Run the PCPitstop.com OverDrive Full Tests

Here's how:

You must use your Internet Explorer for this procedure. (doesn't work so well in Firefox or others). If your machine is running Vista or Windows 7, you must Select IE to “Run as Administrator”. After completing PCPitstop OverDrive you can close your IE browser and re-open it Normally so that you are no longer running as administrator.

Go to: http://www.pcpitstop.com
Click on "Free Computer Check-up" listed below PC Pitstop OverDrive
In the User Login - Click on "Sign up FREE!"
You'll need to submit a valid email address and create your own password, then click - Create Account(button)

Now enter your email address and password to Log in, Select - Scan this system Now!(button)
You will then be asked to download an ActiveX component and allow it to install.
It is safe and does not compromise your privacy.
Follow the on-screen prompts to install the ActiveX and to allow the Full Tests to be run on your machine.

The Full Tests take about 2 1/2 - 3 minutes on most machines.
When complete, a Results - Summary - Recommended Fixes will be displayed.

Please post the URL internet address, from your Results, back here into this Topic Thread so that we can review the configuration and present performance levels of your machine.

Note: During the graphics 2D and graphics 3D testing, your screen will display some rapidly moving objects.
If you are sensitive to visual flashing, it may cause dizziness. Therefore, look away from the screen during that portion of the testing.

After reviewing the results we will be more informed and may be able to provide better recommendations for you to work towards improving your machine's performance.

While PCPitstop does offer a variety of Paid Products, the PCPitstop OverDrive testing is FREE. Please ignore the references to Paid Products. We prefer to provide manual solution instructions that you can apply directly to your machine.

Best Regards
  • 0

#59
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
You folks know more than I do, but this problem came out of nowhere. It's not like I've been noticing a slow down as time went on. A couple of weeks ago I remember watching two tv shows at the same time on Hulu, checking my email and doing some work in MS Word. Now I can't even open up a browser in less than 3 minutes. Two weeks ago, my computer started in 30 seconds, now it takes almost five minutes. I always place my computer in hibernate, now I can't come back from hibernate without crashing. These things seem to happen when there is a problem. In the past, similar things have happened. hen I've managed to figure it out, the computer is actually pretty fast for what my needs are. I don't mean to be stubborn, but throwing memory at this doesn't make sense.
  • 0

#60
jones082

jones082

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
Cross posted...I will definitely try the instructions in #59 asap, thanks.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP