Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Alureon@mbr [Rtk] infection

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

Tatie

Tatie

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello,

This is my first time using this forum. My computer is currently infected with an Alureon trojan virus. My anti-virus (Avast) finds the virus and takes me through the steps to remove it but every time it reboots at the end of the removal process and I go to use the internet, I get a message letting me know that I am still infected with the same virus. Is there any way I can get rid of it with my current anti-virus software (Avast) as I would like to avoid downloading multiple types of different software to avoid further infections. Please help me get rid of this virus, all help is appreciated at this point as I'm seriously thinking about bringing it to someone to get it fixed as I've been unsuccessful so far. Thanks in advance

Advertisements

maliprog

maliprog

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 6,172 posts
Hello Tatie and welcome to G2G! :D

My nick is maliprog and I'll will be your technical support on this issue. Before we start please read my notes carefully:

NOTE:
  • Malware removal is NOT instantaneous, most infections require several courses of action to completely eradicate.
  • Absence of symptoms does not always mean the computer is clean
  • Kindly follow my instructions in the order posted. Order is crucial in cleaning process.
  • Please DO NOT run any scans or fix on your own without my direction.