Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blue, Black, Blinking.


  • Please log in to reply

#16
ConstantFrustration

ConstantFrustration

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hello? :D
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Please post details of what is happening now when the computer boots.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is it booting to a straight black screen, flashing a blue screen real quick and then rebooting.
Staying on a black screen with a flashing line in the upper left corner.
The way it is working can give us a indication of which steps to take next.
  • 0

#19
ConstantFrustration

ConstantFrustration

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
The same thing which was happening at the beginning of the whole process- it goes through the motions of starting up, presenting the loading bar and DELL logo. When the loading bar reaches the end, the blank screen with a white, blinking cursor appears for what appears to be an infinite duration.
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK I know you have tried to enter safe mode before but this will help a lot if you can try it again.
This will tell us what file it stops on and then we can figure out the next action to take. We need to know what is the last file it shows when it stops.
The other option is backing up your data you need to save and then doing a factory restore.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP