Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Understanding RAM: Speeds, way of measuring it, and it's proforman

• Please log in to reply

Keavon

Keavon

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello.
I am rather new to computer building, and I am making my first rig... or planning it out, at least, right now.
I am the kind of person who wants a good machine, but has a budget.
I would like to know how RAM (memory) is measured in speed, and if, and if so, how much, impact it has on performance of the actual computer.
Thank you!

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi Keavon, :D

a simple question, and lots of lengthy and involved answers. You will need to do some research for yourself. Here are some articles to get you going.

> http://www.hardwares...-RAM-Timings/26

> http://www.hardwares...com/article/133

Related links at the end of this article.

http://www.tomshardw...tests,1807.html

Here is a series of articles about windows, including memory. Very technical.

Get back to us if you need help with your build.

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP

how much, impact it has on performance of the actual computer

If bus speeds, CPU and everything else are equal, I would rather have 4Gb of slow RAM than 2Gb of fast RAM. And I recommend 4Gb bare minimum, ideally 6Gb with triple channel memory architecture and 8Gb with dual channel architecture.

but has a budget