Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

1st Computer Build $1000 budget, need part suggestions

• Please log in to reply

Gordy the New Guy

Gordy the New Guy

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hiya expert computer builders!
Im planning on building a new computer, and this is my first time building one. I have done some research, but hardware is not a thing you can master in a few hours of internet research. I need help getting together a good parts list for a computer that can do all of the things I need it to. I need it to run games, such as Starcraft 2, possibly Crysis 2, Total War: Shogun, and high level pvp in Guild wars and Wow. I also want it to run aminecraft sercer, browse the internet with good speed, edit HD video and animate using Maya, Model using Autodesk Inventor and 3DS max, and do day to day tasks such as word processing and the like. I dont plan on being a huge multitasker, but the more of the above mentioned tasks I can complete at once, the better. I have an approximate budget of $1000, give or take a bit. I live near a tiger direct and a microcenter, so shipping costs and part availiability are not big concerns. I do plan on overclocking this pc, as I know a very skilled computer technician who will do this for me. I would go to him for help getting this build together, but why go to him when i have hundreds of skilled profesionals here for free? XD

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Gday Gordy, :D