Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

unexpected loss of ALL data

• Please log in to reply

karkalec

karkalec

• PipPip
  • 52 posts
Hi There,

For the second time I have lost all saved files and settings on my computer. I should say first of all that I am a teacher using a district-owned computer, and although I can install and run programs, save things, etc. I am restricted from using things like System Restore.

This first happened in October. I was out of the country for two weeks and the computer was turned off and stowed in a closet in my house. When I got back and booted it up every trace of my existence (saved documents, bookmarks in web browser, etc.) had vanished.

Last week we had spring break and this morning when I booted it up again the same thing had happened. The only similarity I can see is not being used for a week or so, but other than that I'm at a total loss for why this is happening. Since the first catastrophe I'm backing everything I do up on a flash drive, but I would still like to figure out what's going wrong. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Justin

Advertisements

noknojon

noknojon

• PipPipPip
  • 533 posts
Hi Justin -
If you have no access to system restore please try the following ideas.
http://www.geekstogo...ry-using-erunt/
Follow this link and next time you will be away for a week or so you can backup your system.
The program is Free and is called ERUNT. It is used when you want to save or backup your system.