Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Startech PCI-to-PCMCIA card not working

• Please log in to reply

ppgrainbow

ppgrainbow

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey there! I'm new to the Geeks to Go Forums.

The reason that I signed up is that I'm running into problems with the StarTech.com Cardbus/PCMCIA to PCI adapter card.

I purchased the PCI card as a gift for Christmas late last year, because I was interested in inserting PCMCIA compatible devices into my desktop PC. Most recently as last month, I ordered a Matsushita LS-120 SuperDisk drive that will work with the PCMCIA to PCI adapter.

The problem is that the PCMCIA SuperDisk drive was recognised on my Windows XP laptop, however, when I tried to insert the card in the PCMCIA to PCI slot on my Windows 2000 desktop PC, the floppy drive would buzz briefly and the PC speaker would beep up for a moment. However, the PCMCIA to PCI adapter card failed to properly detect the drive. Here's a link to the screenshot for the reason why:

Posted Image

The StarTech.com Cardbus/PCMCIA to PCI adapter card (designed for Windows 98SE to Windows XP) uses a Ricoh RL5C475(II) cardbus controller. And according to the screenshot above, it's only detecting a PCMCIA IDE/ATAPI Controller.

The resources for the controller card have the IRQ set at 07 and the Input/Output Range set at DFF0-DFFF.

Could it mean the following:

1. The drivers for the StarTech.com Cardbus/PCMCIA to PCI adapter card are either not loaded properly or not loaded?
2. The PCMCIA to PCI adapter card is incompatible with this motherboard?