Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need expert help on first time computer rig

• Please log in to reply

TroyNguyen

TroyNguyen

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello experts,

This is my first time building a PC, I'm currently looking forward into building a $1000 computer rig.
I am a enthusiast and a light gamer, might be looking forward to high end gaming into the future.

Here is what I have purchases so far without double checking:

• Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
  • PCU: Cooler Master Silent Pro 600w
  • Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro B3
  • CPU: Intel core i7 2600k (Sandy Bridge)
  • RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • Hard Drive: WD Caviar Black 500gb, intel x25-v 40gb ssd
  • Optical Drive: none
  • Video Card: none
  • CPU Cooler: Cooler Master hyper fan 212 plus

So my current problem is I just found out the mobo does not support any video outputs.
Since my i7 2600k has intergrated video, I am not looking forward to buy a discrete graphics card with my light gaming.
What do you guys suggest I do?

*I looked up the Asus p8z68-v pro and I might want to exchange it for the p67. If I do, would it work for my setup such as the RAM???

Thanks, I might possibly have other questions also!

-Troy

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi TroyNguyen :)

*I looked up the Asus p8z68-v pro

Yes, a Z68 platform will give you access to all the features of the 2600K including integrated graphics.

Asus does not have many boards available at the moment.