Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Word 2007: Typing Delay in a Template

• Please log in to reply

rphox2003

rphox2003

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
In our company, we have around 10 templates for different doc types. When basing a doc on one particular template, the letters appear on the screen about 1 or 2 seconds after the keystrike. This is driving the developers crazy.

It only happens on this one template. All were created at the same time by the same person (I am new to the company). Any suggestions - other than re-create the problematic template?

Thanks.

Advertisements

AstraNut

AstraNut

• PipPipPip
  • 465 posts
Any old plug-ins installed? Maybe the Preferences set for that template are different than the others. Something like having Spell Check (Contextual Spelling) while typing along with other preferences set may cause a delay or even by itself.

rphox2003

rphox2003

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Thanks. But I started removing elements from the template and found that some of the headers contained multiple graphics - one on top of another.

I've made the fixes and sent it out for testing...but I think this one is solved.

AstraNut

AstraNut

• PipPipPip
  • 465 posts
Would have never thought of that. :) Glad you solved the problem and I'll keep that solution in mind next time. Thanks.

rphox2003

rphox2003

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
It came back from testing with the developers - and got rejected. They all complained that, although there was an improvement, the delay was still bothering them.