Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Time Build Need Help

• Please log in to reply

Mosrael

Mosrael

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Well this is my first time attempting to build a PC and to be honest with you I'm extremely overwhelmed. First I would like to list the steps I took to see if you guys notice anything first hand that I did wrong.

I started with the motherboard and put the CPU in place used a dot of paste over the CPU and placed my heatsink over it and firmly tightened it in place. Next I put both sticks of ram into their corresponding spots on the mobo and then screwed everything into place in my case. Next came the CD-Drive and the Hard Disk followed by the power supply. I hooked the 24 pin into the motherboard and the 8pin into the CPU power slot and also attached the CPU fan to the CPU fan slot. Next I attached the power cords to supply power from the PSU to the Hard Drive and CD Drive and plugged in the SATA cables to both of them and attached them to the SATA Cable slots on the motherboard.

Now this is where I am thoroughly confused. I slid my graphics card into the SLI slot and took the cables for the powerswitch/LED's from the case and read through my motherboard manual to find where I should plug what. The only problem is the manual's color coding is different than the cases and the labeling on the wires do not indicate positive or negative aside from one cable.

So my questions are have I done everything correctly so far and can I assume the color wires are positive and the white wires negative?