Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer Crashes and turns of my Antivirus


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK a quick reprise if I may :)

The current problem is a random BSOD

Try testing your memory as this looks like it may be a faulty memory module.
If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
...run memtest...

1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
2. Unzip downloaded memtest86+-2.11.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find memtest86+-2.11.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-2.11.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS

Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
geekgirl2010

geekgirl2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Hi Essexboy. My cd/dvd doesn't work on my computer so how do I test the ram physically?
  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Do you have a USB drive available ?

Download the USB installer from here
Unzip the programme to your desktop
Insert a USB drive and then run the USB installer programme

Once it has copied over then follow the instructions from step 10 in the previous post
  • 0

#19
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Due to lack of feedback, this topic has been closed.

If you need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member. This applies only to the original topic starter. Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
User returned

Please download SINO by Artellos.
  • Save SINO to a place you can remember and run SINO.exe. (If you downloaded the ZIP version you will need to extract it first)
  • Then please check the following checkboxes:

    System Info
    Services
    Boot Check
    Tasklist
    Startup Items
    Event Log
    Ipconfig
    Ping
    Netstat
    Hosts file
    Shares
    Routing Table

  • Once checked, hit the Run Scan! button and wait for the program to finish the scan.
  • A notepad window will pop up. Please copy all of the content into your next reply.
Note: If you try to interact with the program once it’s started scanning it might appear to hang. The scan however will continue.
  • 0

#21
geekgirl2010

geekgirl2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Thanks alot. Can I still use my computer whilst this runs. Also how long does it take to complete?
  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yes you can still use your computer - although it may be a tad slow

And it should take no more than ten minutes
  • 0

#23
geekgirl2010

geekgirl2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Hi Essex Boy its still running.
  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Has it finished yet ?
  • 0

#25
geekgirl2010

geekgirl2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Hi, no it was running for three hours and I had to cancel it. I've tried a couple more times but it just gets stuck on System Information.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I feel we are looking at a system problem here

Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows.
The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image
  • 0

#27
geekgirl2010

geekgirl2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
It's only showing the temp and nothing else.

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I also did a full indepth anaylsis of my HD and there are the results

http://www.hddstatus...repanalysis.php

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by geekgirl2010, 14 July 2011 - 04:42 PM.

  • 0

#28
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Your temperatures look to be on the hot side - could you check your system for dust bunnies and clear the vents

A little guide here to assist
  • 0

#29
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Due to lack of feedback, this topic has been closed.

If you need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member. This applies only to the original topic starter. Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP