Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help/Suggestion for a new computer

• Please log in to reply

itsmay

itsmay

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hey guys,

My computer is getting old (3-4 years) and I'm forced to play games (mainly starcraft 2 but not only) with low settings (or at max between low and mid) so I felt like it was the time to build a new one but.. I'm a total newbie with these kind of things.
I never built a computer before but this time I'm willing to spend some time learning how to do so.

What im looking for :
Basically, I just want to be able to run starcraft 2 at max settings (since I don't think it requires "that" much of a good comp but I might be wrong), run others game with high settings, do some streaming and do others random things, no professional usage whatsoever.
I wish to be able to use it for 3 to 4 years (knowing of course that I will have to use medium to low settings for games by this time)

Anyway, since I don't know much about where to start from, I found this little guide that you guys probably already know about :
http://i1002.photobu...Guide/Guide.png

But I don't really know which build I should be aiming for :
Something between "excellent" and "exceptional" I guess.
Am I wrong ?
Could you help me decide which one would be the most suitable ? (Or just suggest something different I don't mind, I just took this guide since I was lost)

Monitor :
About my monitor.. I'm clueless, how should I know if there's a reason to get a new one ? At the moment, I'm using a 22'' Philips 220WS8FB which is also 3-4 years old