Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer wont boot

• Please log in to reply

bongrod69

bongrod69

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello everyone I am brand new to the forum and need some expert advice. I just built a new computer last night and ran into some unexpected problems. I have built plenty of computers in the past and I am a IT tech guy but have never came across this. When I finished the build last night I went to turn it on and it powered on for less than a half of a second then shut off. I tired to turn it on again but was unresponsive unless I cleared the cmos (I have a button on my motherboard) and did the same thing when I did that. I am guessing my power supply isn't big enough. I tried to do this 8 or 9 times and unplugged some fans for less power consumption but still had no response. Now the computer wont even boot up for a half a second and I think I blew the PSU. All the lights on the board are still lit up when it's plugged in the board and not on which doesn't make sense if the psu is bad. But I tried unplugging everything and used a paper clip method to try to fire up the psu and got no response. Any guesses on what the problem could be??

Specs:
Board: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX
Card:SAPPHIRE FleX 100312FLEX Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit
PSU: 750w (couple years old, cant think of the name I'm at work)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CPU:AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz
Liquid cooling: ThermalTake Big Water 760i Liquid Cooling System Kit