Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

BSOD watchdog.sys


  • Please log in to reply

#1
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
A couple months back I started to receive the BSOD on my computer. It was (I believe) NV4_disp.dll. So after some digging around, I decided to get a new GPU as mine came with the PC and was kinda old. I went with the NVIDIA GTS 250. I had no problems installing it(first time) and things seemed to be OK for a while. Unrelated to this, I had to reinstall Win XP and I decided to format the drive and start from scratch.(it was my first time doing this) I followed all instructions given and things seemed like they were normal. My old blue screen problems had stopped, my PC was faster and seemed like a new machine. Then, I got the Watchdog.sys BSOD. I DL and ran the whocrashed program(which installed and ran fine) but it told me that even though crash reports are enabled there are none to be found. Do I need to have it happen again in order for it to find the report or is it a deeper problem than this. i have only limited computer knowledge, but I am trying to learn more. Can any one help me please. Thanks in advance.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello idlemindkiller.... Welcome to
GeeksToGo, :)
:unsure: :yes:

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
  • Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time.
  • Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been
    more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly
    then.
  • Please do the following and supply the requested information as needed. If you
    don't understand my instructions please ask and I will try to explain them
    clearer for you.
  • Do not attempt any steps unless instructed or ask before to
    make sure they will not cause any further issues.




Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.





Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...


DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"








  • 0

#3
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
ok, I may sound stupid here but, I cant find the exe file for bluescreenview. Im on the page but I dont see what to click on. All I see is DL versions. Sorry :) off to a shaky start.

Edited by idlemindkiller, 14 July 2011 - 01:48 PM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download BlueScreenView
No installation required.
Double click on BlueScreenView.exe file to run the program.
When scanning is done, go Edit>Select All.
Go File>Save Selected Items, and save the report as BSOD.txt.
Open BSOD.txt in Notepad, copy all content, and paste it into your next reply.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions and program


When you download the file save it to your desktop to make it easier to find.
  • 0

#5
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
OK, well bluescreenview lists that I have 0 crashes so I have nothing to copy for you. :)
  • 0

#6
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Now I did what you said with autoruns but it is saving it as a arn file and not a txt file as in your post. i just cant win. I did run everest and attached the report. also I dont know how to do screenshots but my temp is 46 degrees C. 115 Fahrenheit.

Attached Files


Edited by idlemindkiller, 14 July 2011 - 02:24 PM.

  • 0

#7
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Ok, I think I got the autoruns report right. if not let me know. sorry for being an idiot.

Attached Files


  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK first further instructions to see the actual BSOD.
  • Please download the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso VEW and save it to your Desktop:
  • Double-click VEW.exe
  • Under 'Select log to query', select (as appropriate):
    • Application
    • System
  • Under 'Select type to list', select (as appropriate):
    • Error
    • Information
    • Warning
Then use the 'Date of events' or 'Number of events' as follows:

Either:
  • Click the radio button for 'Number of events'
    Type 3 in the 1 to 20 box (or any number from 1 to 20)
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.

  • Click the radio button for 'Date of events'
    In the From: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 14 07 2011
    In the To: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 14 07 2011
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.
Please post the Output log in your next reply
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ "QuickTime Task"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged
Please do not run any other Auslogics programs other then this one as they may cause unwanted results.


Something I noticed also is you are running Utorrent :)
Did you by chance download anything right before this started?
It could be a possible infection hiding that is causing this.




Push and hold the Windows key on keyboard. This is the one with the Microsft windows logo on it.
While holding Win key down click on the Pause\Break key

This should open the System properties window
On this window it will show

System info:

Microsoft Windows: type and version
Service Pack number

Registered Name
Register Number

Computer:
CPU type
Memory
I need all the above info in your next reply Except for Register name and number.
This is private and we don't need to know this information
  • 0

#10
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
this is from VEW. no i havent DL anything through utorrent that has caused this

Attached Files


Edited by idlemindkiller, 14 July 2011 - 02:50 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Microsoft Windows XP
Media Center Edition
version 2002
Service pack 3

Intel Core 2 CPU 6300 @1.86Ghz 1.86Ghz
2.00GB RAM
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions



Revised and Simplified:


Do you have a valid XP CD?

If so, place it in your CD ROM drive and follow the instructions below:
  • Click on Start and select Run... type sfc /scannow (note the space) (Let this run undisturbed until the window with the blue progress bar goes away)

SFC
- Which stands for System File Checker,
retrieves the correct version of the file from %Systemroot%\System32\Dllcache or the Windows installation source files, and then replaces the incorrect file.
If you want to see what was replaced, right-click My Computer and click on Manage. In the new window that appears, expand the Event Viewer (by clicking on the + symbol next to it) and then click on System.
  • 0

#13
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
CD is in and Im running SFC now
  • 0

#14
idlemindkiller

idlemindkiller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
The bar is like an 1/8 of an inch from finished and a MSG popped up that said " files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL cache. insert your windows xp professional cd2 now."

I dont have a windows professional cd2. the other disk that i have is the drivers and utilities dell dimension resource cd. what do i do?



I sure hope you are eating dinner or something because I am really at a brick wall here. lol

Edited by idlemindkiller, 14 July 2011 - 04:30 PM.

  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK so this is a Dell recovery disk you are using?
If so it may not work then.
Can you borrow a XP OEM installation disk?
Just to try put the drivers disk in and see if it will continue.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP